Album Review: Wraith – Undo the Chains (Redefining Darkness Records)

By the power of Cronos and invocation of the destructive riff fury of early Metallica, Bulldozer, and Motörhead, Wraith are back with their fierce brand of NO BULLSHIT THRASH METAL on their new album Undo the Chains! It will be released on September 24th, 2021 via Redefining Darkness Records.

No bullshit thrash metal – never was truer words spoken and this approach works both in favour and against Wraith… depending on your tastes. On the one hand, it’s exactly as advertised. Chunky and heavy head-banging thrash that has a strong whiff of old-school sweaty denim. On the other, that whiff is musty and not as appealing as it once was.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Calling it dated is fair but it does Wraith an injustice because, and this is really important, they’re kicking all kinds of ass here. Who cares if it’s as familiar as a body part when it’s a beloved part?

12 thrashy, speeding and ferocious blasts of head-banging heavy noise. Uncomplicated fury, Wraith are firing on all cylinders and the album absolutely flies by. In a blur of hair, sweat, blood and maybe some tears as those who worship at the feet of thrash hear exactly what they want.

Wraith – Undo the Chains Full Track Listing:

1. Undo the Chains (Intro)
2. Dominator
3. Gatemaster
4. Mistress of the Void
5. Cloaked in Black
6. Born to Die
7. Time Wins
8. Gift of Death
9. Disgusting
10. Bite Back
11. Victims for the Sword
12. Terminate


Bandcamp | Spotify | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Wraith - Undo the Chains (Redefining Darkness Records)
  • The Final Score - 6.5/10
User Review
10/10 (1 vote)