Album Review: Wormwitch – Wolf Hex (Prosthetic Records)

Clawing their way out from the clay with a renewed purpose informed by lessons of life and the road, unwilling to lay in peace; Wormwitch stands exhumed and stinking under a feral Canadian moon, primed for a relentless black metal sonic attack. The band returns with their third long-player titled Wolf Hex: the wolf representing mental fortitude, lupine independence and the left hand path; the hex representing the approach of magickal thought.

Wolf Hex will be released on August 27th, 2021 via Prosthetic Records.

There is something quite magical about Wormwitch’s Wolf Hex. Not in a ‘whimsical’ kind of way but rather, an ancient and forgotten evil way. They play black metal after all but it’s an evolved style that is unafraid to delve into the heavy metal bag of tricks to offer up surprises and exciting twists and turns.

These experimental touches turns Wolf Hex from an album that you should hear to an album you must hear.

Buy Me a Coffee at

A darkly gothic and horror-infused intro (Lunar Maniac) bleeds into the frenetic metal battering that is Canadian Denim Mountain Attack. Old-school, frenzied black metal complimented by death ferocity and heavy metal flair. It’s a smashing start.

The Wolves of Ossory is up next and what a track this is. Daringly catchy riff work, the heavy metal vibes are much stronger here, but it’s still got the dark undercurrent thanks to a hefty percussion section and, of course, those howling vocals. One of the best tracks on the album.

Although the thumping sinister rhythm of Hammer of the Underworld and frantic speeding savagery of Abracadabra comes mighty close too. In between those two bangers, we also get the folkish melodies and naturistic atmosphere of The Crimson Proof. An unusual mid-point shift that doesn’t feel out of place at all.

The latter part of the album is just as strong as the gale-force barbarism of Leering Crystal Effigies showcases just how epic Wormwitch can sound. Grail is another short touch of naturistic sounds and Southern style guitar melody, something that is shockingly present on Teeth of the Dawn. The guitar soloing is ‘laugh out old’ brilliance here.

Before Hit the Lights, a cover of the Metallica track, closes out the album in a fun way. Not steering too far away from the track’s core sound but giving it a blackened metal flavour, that’s for sure.

It’s an absolutely brilliant album.

Wormwitch – Wolf Hex Full Track Listing:

1. Lunar Maniac
2. Canadian Denim Mountain Attack
3. The Wolves of Ossory
4. Hammer of the Underworld
5. The Crimson Proof
6. Abracadabra
7. Leering Crystal Effigies
8. Grail
9. Teeth of the Dawn
10. Hit the Lights (Metallica Cover)


Bandcamp | Spotify | Facebook | Twitter

Wormwitch - Wolf Hex (Prosthetic Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)