Album Review: Werewolves – What A Time To Be Alive (Prosthetic Records)

The debut Werewolves album ‘The Dead Are Screaming’ was conceived and recorded mid-year 2019 in Australia and was followed by half the country burning to the ground. The sophomore Werewolves release ‘What A Time To Be Alive’ was recorded early 2020 and was immediately followed by a global plague.

Drummer Dave Haley says:

We really fucked the world when we decided to do a second album.

What A Time To Be Alive will be released via Prosthetic Records on January 29th, 2021.

If Werewolves are actually the cause of the worlds ills because they keep making music, we’re pretty much screwed. No-one is going to be wanting this band to stop once they’ve got a taste of this new album. Fuck the world, Werewolves have music to make.

Emerging from the darkness of 2020 into the slightly less murky, but still damn bleak 2021. Werewolves bring us the soundtrack to angry times with crushing nihilism and the blazing, raw power of metal.

Buy Me a Coffee at

The feral intensity of I Don’t Like You that transforms into a filthy slab of death-infused groove. Sublime Wartime Voyeurism is pure, unbridled aggression dished out by instrumentation that is ear-bleedingly violent. Mission Statement also doesn’t hold back and within the first third of the album, it’s clear that Werewolves are taking no prisoners with their savage assault.

Clarity that makes the gut-clenching, eye-watering and sphincter-tightening noise of Crushgasm, Unfathomably Fucked and Antisocial so damn good. Not only that though, the level of outspokenness and Werewolves excellent ability to convey it is one of the most exciting things heard this year so far (yes, it’s only January but this will stand the test of time).

The final trio are easily the most outspoken of the bunch but expertly delivered by this band. The frothing rage of Traitors and Bastards, the meaty and sinewy thickness of A Plague On All Your Houses, and the blackened bleakness of They Will Pay With Their Own Blood.

This is a fucking excellent album.

Werewolves – What A Time to Be Alive Full Track Listing:

1. I Don’t Like You
2. Sublime Wartime Voyeurism
3. Mission Statement
4. Crushgasm
5. Unfathomably Fucked
6. Antisocial
7. Traitors And Bastards
8. A Plague On All Your Houses
9. They Will Pay With Their Own Blood


Bandcamp | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Prosthetic Records


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Werewolves - What A Time To Be Alive (Prosthetic Records)
  • The Final Score - 10/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)