Album Review: Veilburner – A Sire To The Ghouls Of Lunacy (Transcending Obscurity Records)

Veilburner from the US have accelerated their growth and have presented mutated versions of their infamous black/death metal cacophony. An experimental black metal release, A Sire To The Ghouls Of Lunacy is out on the 28th December 2018 via Transcending Obscurity Records.

Veilburner 2

The experimental rhythmic metal opening of Introvertovoid in no way can prepare you for the explosion of feral-like heaviness that it transforms into. Heralded by the huge increase in pace of the drums before the vocals get down and guttural.

That may not sound too exciting as that is what blackened death metal is often about but Veilburner stand out thanks to unexpected shifts in tone and some seriously unique guitar riffing. The word could be ‘unconventional’ and A Sire to the Ghouls of Lunacy is all the better for it.

What could have sounded run of the mill and uninteresting is given fresh life. Panoramic Phantoms is one such track that is part feral fortitude and part inventive freedom. A real showstopper for the US band.

It’s early days though and as impressive as Veilburner have shown themselves to be on the first two tracks, there are six more coming our way. From the gross vocal gargles that accompany the droning guitars of Agony On Repeat. To the eerie circus-style sounds of Abattoir Noir and the spacey sauciness of Glory Glory Grotesque. A Sire to the Ghouls of Lunacy is an album that never stops giving.

It should come as no surprise though that although the album is only 8 tracks long it comes in at nearly 55 minutes. Veilburner don’t do short or simplistic summed up by the final track, Where Torment Has Danced Before.

An album many will love as Veilburner take us on a trip filled with complexities and rhythm to awaken dead souls.

Veilburner 1


Veilburner – A Sire To The Ghouls Of Lunacy Full Track Listing:

1. Introvertovoid
2. Panoramic Phantoms
3. Agony On Repeat
4. Abattoir Noir
5. A Sire To The Ghouls Of Lunacy
6. Glory Glory Grotesque
7. Upstream And Parallel
8. Where Torment Has Danced Before



Head over to Transcending Obscurity Records’ website and Veilburner’s Bandcamp to pick up the album.

Veilburner - A Sire To The Ghouls Of Lunacy (Transcending Obscurity Records)
  • 8.5/10
    The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Rating 5 (1 vote)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!