Album Review: The Yacht Club – The Last Words That You Said To Me Have Kept Me Here And Safe (Beth Shalom Records)

London’s The Yacht Club are a band born out of a desire for creative freedom. They sing songs about mental health, coping with grief, and trying to help others find a light in the dark, taking influences from the likes of TTNG, Phoebe Bridgers, Pennines and American Football.

Yacht Club 2

Starting life with no grand ambitions as a solo endeavour by front man Marcus Gooda as a means to write songs purely for himself, rather than being constrained by other voices, the result was the self-released EP, A. After a tumultuous patch of turning down tours and selling out of physical copies and merchandise, 2015 saw The Yacht Club finally wake from dormancy to release their math-rock inspired self-titled EP in the same year, followed by 2016’s folk-lead EP, Fall.

An intense period of personal upheaval for front man Marcus Gooda and the band followed, as he struggled to cope with the suicide of a close friend, and the resulting mental health problems that affected both him and his wider circle.

After time to grieve and reflect on their experiences, The Yacht Club are back and stronger than ever, with their debut album The Last Words That You Said To Me Have Kept Me Here and Safe arriving on January 25th 2019. A record that’s largely informed by their personal experiences of recovering from the grief and fallout of suicide, and packed full of pathos and emotion.



The emotion pours from the soft melody and frank lyrics of Be Happy and Love Pt. 2. A message regarding suicide and its effects, it’s very touching and pretty to listen too.

After such a mellow start, Heigham Park’s peppy pace and math-rock elements stand out before Postmarks heightens the complexities of the music while delivering a memorable vocal performance.

After only a handful of tracks, it’s hard to not admire the honest feel of this record. It’s dealing with one of the most difficult subjects and Marcus Gooda is laying his feelings out for all to see. Lyrically it’s so very impressive but it also delivers genuine sadness, sweetness and believability with wonderful soft tunes that will leave many emotionally effected.

The latter half of the album has us drifting on a cloud of intricate rhythms with Hopeless, In Amber and Broken Things. The latter of the three having some of the lightest melodies of the entire album.

An awe-inspiring release, one that really nails what it means to have your heart on your sleeve, wraps up with Be Happy and Love Pt. 3. A finish that is perfectly fitting and one final ‘feel’ moment.

Yacht Club 1

The Yacht Club – The Last Words That You Said To Me Have Kept Me Here and Safe Full Track Listing:

1. Be Happy and Love Pt. 2
2. Heigham Park
3. Postmarks
4. Glue
5. 21
6. Get Your Damn Hands Off Her!
7. Hopeless
8. In Amber
9. Broken Things
10. Be Happy and Love Pt. 3

You can order the album here and earlier releases over on Bandcamp. Find out more/keep up to date with news by liking The Yacht Club’s Facebook Page.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

The Yacht Club - The Last Words That You Said To Me Have Kept Me Here And Safe (Beth Shalom Records)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)