Album Review: The Lord Weird Slough Feg – New Organon (Cruz Del Sur Music)

“I didn’t want to just ‘put out another album,’” begins The Lord Weird Slough Feg vocalist/guitarist Mike Scalzi. “I remember telling people that I didn’t want to do another album just to do another album, like so often happens. So, we wrote a lot of songs and only picked the best ones.”

Such was the approach for The Lord Weird Slough Feg’s long-awaited tenth studio album, New Organon, which will see the light of day via Cruz Del Sur Music on June 14th in European territories and June 21st in North America. New Organon also marks the recording debut of drummer Jeff Griffin (who split studio duties with John Dust) and joins Scalzi and longtime members Angelo Tringali (guitar) and Adrian Maestas (bass).


There’s a certain amount of dusty hard rockiness to the opener Headhunter, a track that is all about the riffs. Groovy as hell, it really gets the body moving but The Lord Weird Slough Feg are only getting started. Discourse on Equality slips by in a blur of riffs before the fantastic beat of The Apology steps forward to be counted.

The riffs keep coming thick and hard all while the gruffness of the vocals and deep percussion keep things structured. The title track, Sword of Machiavelli and Uncanny are a trio of varied but equally fun tracks. A mix of groovy, fast-paced and thrilling head-bangers.

Though it’s hard to not break out into a huge smile when the unbelievably catchy Coming of Age in the Milky Way and Exegesis/Tragic Hooligan come along. There’s no denying the best of what this album has to offer comes in the latter. Proved by those few and the finale The Cynic, a track that has an old-school rock and roll vibe running through the exceptionally strong riffs.


The Lord Weird Slough Feg – New Organon Full Track Listing:

1. Headhunter
2. Discourse on Equality
3. The Apology
4. Being and Nothingness
5. New Organon
6. Sword of Machiavelli
7. Uncanny
8. Coming of Age in the Milky Way
9. Exegesis/Tragic Hooligan
10. The Cynic




Band Website | Facebook | Twitter | Bandcamp | Label Website

The Lord Weird Slough Feg - New Organon (Cruz Del Sur Music)
  • 7.5/10
    The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Rating 0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!