Album Review: The Flaying – Angry, Undead (PRC Music)

The Flaying, death metal from Quebec City, Canada will release their second album “Angry, Undead” on March 22th 2019 via PRC Music. Working with Christian Donaldson (Cryptopsy) at The Grid in Montreal, QC, the band has manifested pure mayhem for their fastest and most brutal debauchery to date.

The concept of “Angry, Undead” is an intricate one with each of the eight songs falling under a distinct axis: Chaos (social manifestations); Madness (individual manifestations); and Void (existential manifestations).

Flaying 2

The brief sound of torture introduces us to Angry, Undead before the real pain of The Flaying’s savage death metal comes forth. The roar of hate that Disloqué sends our way alongside some fairly unique sounding technicalities in the guitars really stands out.

It is the proficiency in the guitars, the oddities that surround the crushing heaviness that stops Angry, Undead being just a run of the mill death metal release. The likes of Place du Parvis, Genuflect and La Valse du Scorpion are enhanced because of the mad strumming, complex rhythms and unusual shifts.

However, don’t let that confuse you regarding what Angry, Undead is at its core. It is a savage, brutish and barbaric death metal album emphasised by the nasty groove of Elegy of Emptiness and the booming Angry, Unleashed.

A fine addition to any death metal fan’s collection.

Flaying 1

The Flaying – Angry, Undead Full Track Listing:

1. Ouverture Écarlate
2. Disloqué
3. Place du Parvis
4. Genuflect
5. Egocentric Predicament
6. Elegy of Emptiness
7. La Valse du Scorpion
8. Angry, Unleashed
9. Angry, Undead



The album can be ordered via Bandcamp and PRC Music here. Find out more via The Flaying’s Facebook Page, Instagram and YouTube.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

The Flaying - Angry, Undead (PRC Music)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
5 (1 vote)