Album Review: Spiral Skies – Blues For A Dying Planet (AOP Records)

Swedish occult rock band Spiral Skies’ upcoming, debut album, Blues For A Dying Planet will be released on May 18th via AOP Records.

A unique blend of folk, doom and 70’s inspired rock music. The band has been compared to band such as Jefferson Airplane, Curved Air and The Devil’s Blood, to name just a few.

Spiral Skies 2

A wickedly devilish intro sets up things nicely, Black Hole Waltz giving off the vibe of a satanist ball. Evil beings dressed in their finery, masked and filled with wicked thoughts as Spiral Skies are introduced to the stage.

Once they take their places the party really gets started with the rocking opener of Awakening. A track that combines foot-tapping classic sounding riffs with an strong occult theme. It’s a hell of a start.

Heavy bass and a more melodic approach sees Dark Side of the Cross and The Wizard’s Ball impress before Danse Macabre lays some murderous hooks down for the listener to get caught up in.

Occult-inspired bands playing early rock music have a habit of being far too similar to bands of that time-period. So much so that it’s often difficult to see them as their own thing. That’s not a problem for Spiral Skies, they really do make their own mark.

Keeping up with the theme but not being handcuffed by it, Shattered Hopes’ pace and desperate sounding vocals excel, Left Is Right And Right Is Left Behind is a bit more straight-forward but not lacking in oomph before The Prisoner ends things as they begin with a really infectious tune as the sacrificial knife is dug in deeply.




Spiral Skies 1

Spiral Skies – Blues For A Dying Planet Full Track Listing:

1. Black Hole Waltz
2. Awakening
3. Dark Side Of The Cross
4. The Wizard’s Ball
5. Danse Macabre
6. Labyrinth Of The Mind
7. Shattered Hopes
8. Left Is Right And Right Is Left Behind
9. The Prisoner

Check them out on Spotify and Apple Music below. You can order the album via AOP Records here and via Bandcamp here. Like Spiral Skies’ Facebook Page to find out more/keep up to date with news, follow them on Instagram and subscribe to their YouTube channel for videos.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Spiral Skies - Blues For A Dying Planet (AOP Records)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *