Album Review: Scarecrow – Splatterpunk (82 Records)

Finnish horror/metal punk band, Scarecrow are back with their latest, and first, concept album entitled ‘Splatterpunk’. It will be released on August 6th, 2021 via 82 Records.

Scarecrow have been around since 2000 and have released 5 full-length albums and 11 Eps to date. Splatterpunk is their 6th full-length album and has the Finnish metallic horror punk band going hell for leather across 16 tracks.

Buy Me a Coffee at

16 blasts that betray the expected beauty you normally might get from bands from Finland. There’s something quite ugly, quite raw and quite horrible about Scarecrow’s metal/punk sound. Especially as it does sit in the high tempo side of punk rock, with scathing bouts of heavy metal riffs while having a horror flavour.

Call it what you want, everyone can agree that it’s a noisy record regardless. You can feel the energy, smell the sweat and taste the stale beer. It’s music for the grotty club basement or sawdust covered dive bar. Uncomplicated and to the point; track after track of dirty noise that makes you want to get up and move.

Highlights include the beastly Mark of the Werewolf, the infectious Witchfuck, the heavy metal head-banger that is Skull of Antichrist, the synthy horror of Nothing in the Mirror and hyperactive evil What’s the Devil to Do.

Scarecrow – Splatterpunk Full Track Listing:

1. Stand Up and Die
2. Mark of the Werewolf
3. Witchfuck
4. ZMB1
5. Skull of Antichrist
6. Don’t Worry, We Just Die
7. ZMB2
8. In the Name of Nothing
9. Nothing in the Mirror
10. ZMB3
11. Breathing Death
12. What’s the Devil to Do
13. Gruesome Twosome
14. Master of Chaos
15. ZMB4
16. Nocturnal Bird


Bandcamp | Spotify | Facebook | YouTube


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Scarecrow - Splatterpunk (82 Records)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)