Album Review: Sator – Return of The Barbie-Q-Killers (Wild Kingdom)

Being one of Swedens longest lasting rock bands Sator should need no introduction. After initially being founded in Borlänge Sweden as Sator Codex back in 1981 the band shortened their name and started changing their musical direction to what would become Sator in 1987.

To date, the band has released 8 studio albums with album number 9, Return of The Barbie-Q-Killers due on July 29th, 2022 via Wild Kingdom.

Rocking and rolling into another decade as a band, Sator really should need no introduction as their music has been delighting a wide array of people for many, many years. They’re a band who deliver uncomplicated, energetic, heartfelt, and groovy music that always puts a smile on faces.

Which is exactly what we get on this new album, more quality Sator rock music, and there’s a lot to enjoy here. Yes, this is a 24-track album but to be fair, a lot of these songs comes in at around the 2-minute mark and a handful around the minute mark. It’s an album filled with fast, energised, pointed and fun bouts of rock music.

It would probably come as no surprise if you were told that Return of The Barbie-Q-Killers was Sator phoning it in. After all, they’ve been doing this a long time. Happily, that is far from the case as the group distil and exude as much passion as ever here. From the fast and punk-infused opener of Get Out of My Way to the absurd catchiness of Shimmy Shake to the pop-rock sing-along that is Brown Eyed Son. The first few tracks will have most sold on what Sator are offering here.

Buy Me a Coffee at

That is just the first 3 tracks though, there are 21 others and a lot of fun, good music can be found amongst those. Tracks like the frantic Out of Time, the punky fire of Hall, the growling and groovy sound of If I Can’t Have What I Want, I Don’t Want Anything, and the foot-tapper that is In with the Crowd. These are some of the major highlights on an album that is filled with them.

Pick any track at random and you’ll enjoy yourself. There’s no better compliment we can give to Sator’s new album. Return of The Barbie-Q-Killers is a rock banger.

Sator – Return of The Barbie-Q-Killers Full Track Listing:

1. Get Out of My Way
2. Shimmy Shake
3. Brown Eyed Son
4. Pumps, Purse and A Pillbox Hat
5. Out of Time
6. Mental Case
7. Hall
8. Rocket and A Rose
9. Do the Fast
10. (I Need) Action
11. You Dont Seem Real
12. If I Can’t Have What I Want, I Don’t Want Anything
13. Vicious Circle
14. Backstage Pass
15. I’m Bored
16. How Could You
17. Go Away Girl
18. Ga Til Gud
19. Dog Eat World
20. In with The Crowd
21. Supply and Demand
22. Big Burden
23. Slam
24. Chord Rock


Website | Spotify | Facebook


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Sator - Return of The Barbie-Q-Killers (Wild Kingdom)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
6.57/10 (6 votes)