Album Review: Rammstein – Paris (Live) (Universal)

Rammstein’s latest live album, their third to date following Volkerball in 2006 & Live Aus Berlin in 1999, was recorded (and filmed for those who picked up the DVD) in Paris. Coming off arguably the band’s dying embers of their hottest period, Paris (Live) has to be the last Rammstein anything before we get a new album. After all it’s been 8 years since the fantastic Liebe Ist Für Alle Da.

Rammstein 2

22 tracks long, Paris (Live) takes us through the entire 23 year career of the inventive German industrial metal band. Every album gets tracks aired with heavy leaning towards Mutter onwards.

It shows how strong the industrial metallers back catalogue is when Sonne, Keine Lust, Sehnsucht & Feuer Frei are made up of the first 6 songs!

If it’s been a while since you’ve listened to Rammstein, Paris (Live) is a great reminder of just why so many people fell in love with them. These songs, some of which are over 20 years old sound as fresh & huge as they first did. Being a live album you also get little nuances, changes & adaptions that add some extra excitement to the songs.

Now an important thing to remember is that a big part of seeing Rammstein live is the incredible show they put on. If you’ve never seen a Rammstein live show, it can’t be recommended enough. Incredible music alongside more fire & pyrotechnics then you could ever imagine. They’re the masters of the show within the metal world. Obviously that isn’t something that comes across listening to them live but it is damn cool to hear some of their explosions & fiery moments & hear the crowd react to it.

Rammstein 4

It’s also a lot of fun if you’ve seen them live to picture just what is happening (such as the fire-breathing end of Furer Frei!)

Like many modern live albums, Paris (Live) goes for a more stripped back approach with the crowd volume turned up high meaning you really feel like you’re part of it. It does come with a drawback though as at times Rammstein sound a bit muted.

Still, this is the best live album Rammstein have done mainly because of the strength & variety in songs. They’ve had an incredible career & it’s going to be so exciting when they announce a new album.

Rammstein 3

Rammstein – Paris (Live) Full Track Listing:

1. Intro
2. Sonne
3. Wollt Ihr Das Bett In Flammen Sehen
4. Keine Lust
5. Sehnsucht
6. Asche Zu Asche
7. Feuer Frei!
8. Mutter
9. Mein Teil
10. Du Riechst So Gut
11. Links 2 3 4
12. Du Hast
13. Haifisch
14. Buck Dich
15. Mann Gegen Mann
16. Ohne Dich
17. Mein Herz Brennt
18. Amerika
19. Ich Will
20. Engel
21. Pussy
22. Fruhling in Paris


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Rammstein - Paris (Live) (Universal)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *