Album Review: Our Survival Depends On Us – Melting the Ice in the Hearts of Men (Ván Records)

“Melting the Ice in the Hearts of Men” is the fourth album of Our Survival Depends On Us. The unique quintet from Austria combines elements of classic metal genres with shoreless influences that words can barely describe.

The album is out on the 8th of February 2019 via Ván Records.

Survival Depends 2

It’s really hard to get into Melting the Ice in the Hearts of Men at first thanks to the slow build of the opening track, Galahad. Its soft rhythm with a echoing drum beat begins to get interesting as it gets harder and heavier before dropping away into a haunting soundscape of twinkly melody and fantasy-style vocals. It’s not the best even if it is interestingly unique.

Perhaps the best moments are when Our Survival Depends on Us really transform and flex their metal muscles. Showing off an ear for challenging noise that seems born from traditional metal of old but with post-inclines.

The energy found at the end of the opening track bleeds into Gold and Silver and it is a hell of a track. A deep and booming sound, a tempo switch to a slightly more guitar melody driven segment and back again. The latter section is deliciously evil sounding. Our Survival Depends on Us have certainly found their stride.

Each of the four tracks has this ‘epic’ feel and differentiation with pacing, elements thrown into the background and forcefulness. Song of the Lower Classes showcases all three with flashes of intense doom, sci-fi effects and such a level of pressure bearing down that it should crack skulls.

Finally Sky Burial goes the darkly depressing route of low-bearing noise and eerie effects. It lasts for nearly 7 minutes and then a drum beat starts up and the guitars come in giving us a way more interesting final few minutes.

Survival Depends 1

Our Survival Depends On Us – Melting the Ice in the Hearts of Men Full Track Listing:

1. Galahad
2. Gold and Silver
3. Song of the Lower Classes
4. Sky Burial

You can find out more by going to the band’s website here.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Our Survival Depends On Us - Melting the Ice in the Hearts of Men (Ván Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)