Album Review: Orange Goblin – The Wolf Bites Back (Candlelight/Spinefarm Records)

The legendary British rock band, Orange Goblin will release their latest opus entitled The Wolf Bites Back. The 10 track album will be the band’s ninth studio release and will be released via Candlelight and Spinefarm Records worldwide on 15th June 2018.

Vocalist, Ben Ward, commented:

“We are very excited about this new album. The Wolf Bites Back is our strongest and most diverse collection of songs to date, it’s certainly a lot darker both musically and lyrically. It is still definitely a distinct Orange Goblin album but we have incorporated a lot more variation on this record and there are hints of Can, Captain Beyond, Wishbone Ash and The Stooges nestling amongst the obvious Sabbath and Motorhead influences. Lyrically I have explored everything from alien serial killers to zombie biker gangs, Buddhist warriors through to descendants of the Salem witches!

“There was definitely a concerted effort to make sure all the songs could work in a live environment which gives the album a more raw, stripped back feel – something that I feel has been lacking from good rock and metal in recent years. Working with Jaime Gomez Arellano was really productive and a great experience, especially going back to tracking stuff to tape. I feel that he got the best out of all of us as musicians and songwriters and that really comes across in the songs, there is an air of confidence and experience. It was also a real honour for us to have Phil Campbell of Motorhead lending his hand to a couple of solos on there too!”

Orange Goblin 1

A British institution, loved and respected, any new release by Orange Goblin is met with excitement and this far into their career it’s good to see them continue to push themselves. Something The Wolf Bites Back proves even if opener and lead single, Sons of Salem might be a bit too straightforward. Although it has a super-catchy chorus.

Leaning more towards a hard-rock sound, the title track delivers bite alongside memorable melody. A constant mix of up-tempo, riff heavy tunes and more mood altering, stoner based head-bangers. Renegade, Ghosts of the Primitives and Burn the Ships bring the catchy groove and feel-good vibes that all great rock records should.

If it’s lacking anywhere it with the country-style tune of The Stranger. A track that meanders along with no clear destination meaning by time the tempo increases it’s already well and truly lost.

Ultimately it’s a brief dip though as The Wolf Bites Back is hard rock gold. Ending with a highlight, Zeitgeist’s delectable guitars and gruff vocals are no match for the impressive and punchy drum beat. The final piece that completes the picture, one that shows Orange Goblin are back and as great as always.

Orange Goblin 2

Orange Goblin – The Wolf Bites Back Full Track Listing:

1. Sons of Salem
2. The Wolf Bites Back
3. Renegade
4. Swords of Fire
5. Ghosts of The Primitives
6. In Bocca Al Lupo
7. Suicide Division
8. The Stranger
9. Burn the Ships
10. Zeitgeist

[amazon_link asins=’B07BYP42MT,B005SDB6UW,B001J2B58Y,B004GA6PKY’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’6fc0b39d-5f67-11e8-9d93-0b6dab071008′]

The Wolf Bites back will be available everywhere music is sold including digital platforms like Apple Music. You can keep up to date with news by liking their Facebook Page.

Orange Goblin - The Wolf Bites Back (Candlelight/Spinefarm Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.