Album Review: Noosed – Rise (Trepanation Recordings)

Rise is the bludgeoning new release from Ireland’s Noosed. Exploring themes of addiction, oppression, ignorance, and police brutality they offer a blistering 14 minutes of industrial tinged Grind/Crust/Sludge.

Formed in 2019 by Rodge (Ruairi O’Baoighill, Stonecarver, Reilig) and Mand (Rotcart), Noosed has self released two demos digitally and on cassette (S/T – 2019, She of the Woods – 2019) and their third release (Butcher – 2020) was released on Trepanation Recordings.

Rise will be released on October 23rd digitally via Trepanation Recordings as well as on Limited Edition cassette. Limited to 50 copies, the cassette will feature ‘Rise’ on side A and previous release ‘Butcher’ on side B.



There’s something both appealing and off-putting when it comes to rolling around in the muck Noosed kick up. After getting well and truly covered in filth with the previously released Butcher, there’s a little bit of trepidation when it comes to Rise.

Noosed seem to notice that, so grab tight and throw the wary listener into the deep end. Choking and spluttering, there’s nothing for it now but to revel in the waste they have crafted.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Eight tracks coming in at less than 14 minutes, it’s a crusty sludge start with We Aim, although you’ll find yourself all to aware that things are going to get wilder and quickly. With the grinding intensity of Never Going Home, Rats, Going to Fall, Bleed and Rearranged proving that to be the case.

The main portion of the album is all about relentless, grimy and raw heaviness. Although, it’s not like things calm down for the finale that is the title track. The drums and guitars pounding out a beat that has the power to crack skulls and the vocals howl with a throaty concentration that just fits the music so well. It’s a banger of a closer and maybe one of the best tracks Noosed have produced.

Noosed – Rise Full Track Listing:

1. Intro
2. We Aim
3. Never Going Home
4. Rats
5. Going to Fall
6. Bleed
7. Rearranged
8. Rise


Bandcamp | Facebook

Noosed - Rise (Trepanation Recordings)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!