Album Review: Nattravnen – Kult of the Raven (Transcending Obscurity Records)

Original Death and Massacre vocalist Kam Lee gives one of his best performances on Nattravnen. All about the legend of Night Raven, for which Kam has written an actual story, in addition to the lyrics of the album. Alongside Jonny Petterson of Heads For The Dead and Wombbath they have created music that is death metal laced with black metal and atmospheric doom elements.

Kult of the Raven will be released on December 7th 2018 via Transcending Obscurity Records.

Nattravnen 2

What an album this is. Utterly devoid of happiness, the dark death metal that Nattravnen spit out is enough to consume all. The cawing of a raven introduces the album before the duo of Kam Lee and Jonny Petterson throw their all into delivering a heavy metal listen that is outstanding in its aggression while also proving to be a well-thought out album.

The story might not be clear because of the constant high energy heaviness but Nattravnen get their feelings across and add a really intense level of gothic horror to things. See Suicidium, the Seductress of Death as an absolutely prime example of this. A blazing fire of heavy but with rhythm that rips you open, what a track it is.



After such a musical high, Corvus Corax Crown pours more fuel on with a hyper pace of metal. The guitars and drums played at a blistering pace all while Kam Lee roars and screeches this way through the lyrics. The tone then shifts for Upon the Sound of Her Wings which lays on a more doom orientated effort something that is also pretty present in The Anger of Despair When Coping With Your Death.

Elsewhere Nattravnen leave minds dark and thoughts in despair as they erupt from the depths of death metal with Return to Nevermore, From the Haunted Sea and Kult av Ravnen. If you enjoy your death metal hard and heavy but clean and clear then Kult of the Raven is perfect for you. It delivers in all departments by being horrifyingly heavy, sorrowfully black and mournfully doom.

Nattravnen 1

Nattravnen – Kult of the Raven Full Track Listing:

1. The Night of the Raven
2. Suicidium, the Seductress of Death
3. Corvus Corax Crown
4. Upon the Sound of Her Wings
5. Return to Nevermore
6. From the Haunted Sea
7. The Anger of Despair When Coping With Your Death
8. Kingdom of the Nattravnen
9. Kult av Ravnen



You can order the album now via Bandcamp and via Transcending Obscurity Records here. Find out more by checking out Nattravnen’s Facebook Page.

Nattravnen - Kult of the Raven (Transcending Obscurity Records)
  • 9/10
    The Final Score - 9/10
User Rating 5 (2 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!