Album Review: Nachtblut – Vanitas (Napalm Records)

German Dark Metal pioneers Nachtbult have announced their sixth full-length, Vanitas will be released on October 2nd 2020 via Napalm Records. Three years after the previous album Apostasie was released, Nachtbult return with even more vigor and might.

The atmosphere grows and the light begins to fade as Nachtbult begin their brand new evil offering in bombastic style (Veritas) before the guitars burst forth with blinding brightness for the title track. A drop into gothic and orchestral music then leads into the true horror of this offering.

A stellar start, it’s surprising to get a folky metal beat with Leierkinder but not an unwelcome one. Nachtbult showing their variety off in gloriously exciting and bouncy style. Followed by the heavy atmosphere of Das Puppenhaus, a deliciously twisted offering that has an air of the carnival about it while having furiously intense guitar riffs.

So far, every track has been something quite different yet it isn’t a confused sounding album. Simply put, this is Nachtbult and they make eclectic, fascinating dark metal.

Don’t believe me? How about the heavy electronica effort that is Kaltes Herz which shares much in common with the Neue Deutsche Härte scene. Or the rocking and groovy retro sound of Nur In Der Nacht. A pair of oddities that give all kinds of pleasure!

As does the grandiose and gothic heavyweight that is Fürchtet Was Geschrieben Steht and the daring blend of melodies, synth and thumping catchiness that Schmerz & Leid. Nachtbult having spun the listener around in circle to the point of dizziness.

Buy Me a Coffee at

This frankly brilliant album culminates with a trio that continue to defy all expectations. Meine Grausamkeit Kennt Keine Grenzen with its plinky keys and punchy beat, Gegan Die Götter furious heaviness that harks back to the start of the album and the massive closer that is Die Toten Vergessen Nicht. A finale that is so grand, so massive and such a blockbuster end, that is takes the final score up that extra notch.

Such a fantastic release.

Nachtbult – Vanitas Full Track Listing:

1. Veritas
2. Vanitas
3. Leierkinder
4. Das Puppenhaus
5. Kaltes Herz
6. Nur In Der Nacht
7. Fürchtet Was Geschrieben Steht
8. Schmerz & Leid (feat. Chris Harms)
9. Meine Grausamkeit Kennt Keine Grenzen
10. Gegen Die Götter
11. Die Toten Vergessen Nicht


Website | Facebook | Instagram | Napalm Records

Nachtblut - Vanitas (Napalm Records)
  • The Final Score - 10/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!