Album Review: Massive Wagons – Welcome To The World (Remixed) (Self Released)

UK rockers Massive Wagons will re-release their fan-favourite album ‘Welcome to the World’ on January 19th, 2024. The album is made up of re-worked songs plus a number of bonus tracks & new artwork. Originally released in April 2016, the album is currently out of print on CD and the band have been vocal over the years about tweaks they’d love to make – and now they have!

Frontman Barry “Baz” Mills elaborates:

We wanted to re-release it with a purpose, and absolutely did not want to just ‘re-master’ it – we wanted to pay it the proper attention it was due. The album was originally recorded from start to finish in about 12 days due to work and money constraints. At the time, we were happy with the finished product, but over the years we have always said we wished we could have spent more time on certain songs. That’s why we re-visited Matt Elliss at Axis Studios, to look at everything we recorded at the time and just spend time listening to all the takes, parts, and sessions we put down to see what really was best for the songs. It was a lot of fun and I truly believe these songs are now much more where we wanted them to be back in 2016. I’m so proud of this album, and I can’t wait to hear what you think of the re-worked, re-mixed songs!

Massive Wagons by Dean Chalkley

You don’t have to be a huge Massive Wagons fan to appreciate this re-issue and its re-worked tracks, but it probably helps. It is, after all, an example of fan service, which means that your feelings towards the band and the album already will dictate how you feel about this release.

That being said, you’d have to be a stone-cold bastard to find something to enjoy here. Massive Wagons are one hell of an anthemic rock band, capable of getting just about everyone up and moving, and causing singalongs galore. Tracks like Nails, Shit Sweat Dead, Fighting Jack, and Fee Fi Fo Fum have never sounded this groovy, energised, and exciting. This re-working has allowed the band to really showcase their growth in the years since it was originally released, and it just sounds so much smoother to the ears.

Of course, it’s not just about body-shaking rock and roll, Massive Wagons know a thing or two about melody as well. Both Tokyo and Ratio are such singalongs, and they just sound grander here. Then there is the likes of Jodie and Aeroplane that offer plenty of melodrama, giving this album a really layered and varied feel overall.

…but you already know all of this. Chances are this re-working is a nice to have, rather than a must have. Until you take into account the five bonus offerings, three of which are only available on the CD version of the album.

Don’t want the physical release? Then you can enjoy the sweet acoustic ringing of Sixteen and the high-powered rocker that is Everybody Dies. Both are strong tracks and fit the original album vibe nicely.

Then, if you do get the CD version, you’ll get to enjoy an ‘Unplugged’ version of Aeroplane, which is very cool. You’ll also get to enjoy Fighting Jack again, but with an alternative solo, and the 2016 ‘pledge only’ track, Mr Crowley. Yes, this is a cover of the Ozzy hit, and Massive Wagons sure do it well. Talk about bang for your buck.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Massive Wagons – Welcome to the World (Remixed) Track Listing:

1. Nails (2023)
2. Tokyo (2023)
3. Welcome to the World (2023)
4. Ratio (2023)
5. Shit Sweat Dead (2023)
6. The Day We Fell (2023)
7. Fighting Jack (2023)
8. Jodie (2023)
9. Aeroplane (2023)
10. Fee Fi Fo Fum (2023)
11. Sixteen (2023) (Bonus Track)
12. Everybody Dies (2023) (Bonus Track)
13. Aeroplane (Unplugged – 2023) (Bonus Track – CD Only)
14. Fighting Jack (Alt. Solo – 2023) (Bonus Track – CD Only)
15. Mr Crowley (Pledge Only – 2016) (Bonus Track – CD Only)


Website | Facebook | Instagram | X | TikTok


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Massive Wagons - Welcome To The World (Remixed) (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
7/10 (1 vote)