Album Review: Massacre – Resurgence (Nuclear Blast)

Florida-based death metal legends Massacre are back! Featuring the very same creatures that appeared on the Chamber of Ages (1986) demo, as well as some of death metal’s most prolific and malignant songwriters, new album Resurgence is the perfect soundtrack to the gruesome plague era in which we all reside. It will be released on October 22nd, 2021 via Nuclear Blast.

A blast of old-school death metal for the modern times, Massacre bring nasty and uncouth aggression to the masses with Resurgence. Infectious and irrational heaviness from a group who could realistically do this in their sleep. Though, that’s not to suggest they’re half-assing it. Quite the opposite in fact, as the legend’s ply their trade in an enthusiastic way.

From the methodical, peculiar tempos and bloodying instrumentation of Eldritch Prophecy to the horrifying spectacle that is Ruins of R’lyeh to the blistering pace and repulsive heaviness of The Innsmouth Strain. The latter featuring a guitar solo that is wild enough to send the mind careening into madness.

The Whisper in Darkness, Book of the Dead, Into the Far Off Void and Servants of Discord keep the twisted, evil and savage death metal focused. Consistently brutal, constantly eager and lastingly unrestrained. Track after track of eye-watering, ear-bleeding and mind-numbing death metal.

If you’re not suffering neck ache through the sheer head-banging effort by time Fate of The Elder Gods and Spawn of The Succubus arrive, you’ve not been listening hard enough.

Buy Me a Coffee at

There’s one more chance to redeem yourself though and it’s arguably the most intense track of the bunch. Return of The Corpse Grinder, a short blast of ferociousness that has Massacre giving it their all to ensure Resurgence goes out with sickening and gruesome bang.

Massacre – Resurgence Full Track Listing:

1. Eldritch Prophecy
2. Ruins of R’lyeh
3. The Innsmouth Strain
4. The Whisperer in Darkness
5. Book of The Dead
6. Into the Far Off Void
7. Servants of Discord
8. Fate of The Elder Gods
9. Spawn of The Succubus
10. Return of The Corpse Grinder


Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | Nuclear Blast


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Massacre - Resurgence (Nuclear Blast)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
8.1/10 (1 vote)