Album Review: Marasmus – Necrotic Overlord (Transcending Obscurity Records)

Featuring members of Unmerciful, US death metal band Marasmus whip up a veritable death metal maelstrom with their brand-new album, Necrotic Overlord. Due to be released on March 12th, 2021 via Transcending Obscurity Records.

The very first question that immediately jumps to mind when first hitting play on a new death metal release is often this; is it heavy? The next is likely to be: does it do anything different to what we expect?

Regarding Marasmus’ Necrotic Overlord, the answer to the first one is a resounding yes. As for the second? That’s a little tougher to nod the head enthusiastically too even if the adamant belligerence of the album insists you do.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Instrumentally, the album absolutely slays. The guitars are ripping and tearing their way through riff after riff. Sharp and intense, blood and guts will be spilled by their sheer power. The bass digs under the skin creating exasperating itches that just can’t be gratified and the drums alternate between heavy blows to the soft parts and speedy jabs to the temple. Consistently impressive playing with all the confident power of a band ready to dominate the death metal world.

Then of course, we have the vocals. Arguably, the strongest aspect of Maramus’ sound although initially they might just sound par for the course for this type of metal. However, there is some impressive range even if it is solely based in guttural growls and roars.

All of this put together results in an album that oozes brutality but never gets boring. Such is the constant expulsion of heavy noise, there’s very little time to think about it. Instead, wave after wave of meaty meanness rushes over and it’s something of a miracle if you’re able to avoid drowning in it.

Don’t expect anything ‘brand new’ and you won’t be disappointed. Instead, find the joy in hearing aggressive death metal done by a very capable band.

Maramus – Necrotic Overlord Full Track Listing:

1. Ectoplasmic Violation
2. Universal Deceit
3. Appeasing Thanatos
4. Necrotic Overlord
5. Voices of the Wailing Deceased
6. Archaic Burial Rites
7. Carrion Ascension
8. Insurrection
9. Pagan Orgies to Human Sacrifice
10. Forsaken Graves of Infant Kings


Bandcamp | Facebook | Transcending Obscurity Records

Marasmus - Necrotic Overlord (Transcending Obscurity Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!