Album Review: LOVEBITES – Clockwork Immortality (JPU Records)

LOVEBITES, consisting of asami (vocals), miho (bass), haruna (drums), midori (guitar) and miyako (guitar) are making waves in the metal world. An all female Japanese metal band, the five-piece are finally going to unleash their second album, Clockwork Immortality on CD in the UK on January 18th 2019 via JPU Records.

Clockwork Immortality 2

This is an important record for LOVEBITES. They’ve really made an impression and answered many a naysayer who were quick to make comparisons to BABYMETAL based just on image alone. If you’re still on the fence about them, well Clockwork Immortality might go some way to changing that.

They seem to want to prove a point as they come raging out of the gates with Addicted. A face-melting level of speed in the thrashy guitar riffs while asami sings beautifully alongside. It’s such a statement and the solo near the end is simply fantastic.

The production job on this album is killer, letting every single element of LOVEBITES frantic but epic style of metal shine. Pledge of the Saviour and Rising roar with potential and the band grab the opportunity to knock everyone dead. They really are a talented bunch allowing us to drink in their more melodic metal moments as well as their heaviness.

The best moments of the album come when the band just let rip as Mastermind’s chuggy riffs, squeals and pace deliver everything a person could want from a metal track. There’s even a little more venom in the vocals too.

Getting the length just about right, the ten tracks do fly by in a blur of energy. Even the odd flat moments (Journey to the Other Side is a middling and uninspired number) don’t detract from the enjoyment of Clockwork Immortality.

As we reach the finale, We the United is a massive call to arms for all LOVEBITES fans. A wickedly upbeat level of riffing and a real feeling that this is the punctuation mark on the LOVEBITES defiant stand that is this album. Perhaps it should have been the closer as Epilogue is a 7-minute ballad that fails to see things out with impact. It’s pretty, thanks to the vocals and the melody is nice, but it’s not what anyone is likely to remember afterwards.

Clockwork Immortality 1

LOVEBITES – Clockwork Immortality Full Track Listing:

1. Addicted
2. Pledge of the Saviour
3. Rising
4. Empty Daydream
5. Mastermind
6. M.D.O.
7. Journey to the Otherside
8. The Final Collision
9. We the United
10. Epilogue

[amazon_link asins=’B07KBQMXL8,B07K5Z3BZ5,B07K5ZV92X,B07K5YTL6X’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’572b05aa-0bc9-11e9-8eda-8f71fac54cb8′]

Clockwork Immortality is available now via all major streaming services and shops.

LOVEBITES – Clockwork Immortality (JPU Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
4 (1 vote)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!