Album Review: Life Of Agony – The Sound Of Scars (Napalm Records)

Serving as chapter two to their legendary debut album ‘River Runs Red’, Life of Agony’s new album The Sound of Scars is out now via Napalm Records.


For those who don’t know, the debut album was a concept album about a troubled teenager who attempted suicide. The album’s story seemingly ended in tragedy. I say seemingly because The Sound of Scars picks the story back up.

The dripping is heard again, followed by the voice of the emergency services and the sound of sirens approaching. That’s Prelude letting us know things haven’t come to an unfortunate end. What follows is a narrative weaved expertly across 13 more tracks. Having survived his suicide attempt, the scars are left behind and they run deep.

Telling this story in a way that ties all the songs together but also keeps them dissonant enough to stand alone is the most impressive thing about The Sound of Scars. It’s a compelling listen from start to finish but also allows listeners to be able to pick their favourites out of the pack.

Story aside, this is some of the best music Life of Agony have produced and certainly since the iconic debut. From their heavier punk side to their groovy rockiness and grungy elements, this is a resounding success story. The riffs of Weight of the World are so impressive and Caputo is on fine form with her delivery, waxing poetically one moment then digging deep with some real fire in her belly. All complimented by bass and drums that give much of The Sound of Scars some memorable hooks.


Life of Agony – The Sound of Scars Full Track Listing:

1. Prelude
2. Scars
3. Black Heart
4. Lay Down
5. Then
6. Empty Hole
7. My Way Out
8. Eliminate
9. Now
10. Once Below
11. Stone
12. Weight of the World
13. When
14. I Surrender


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Life Of Agony - The Sound Of Scars (Napalm Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
5 (2 votes)