Album Review: Innasanatorium – Odyssey Of The Mind (Self Released)

Hailing from Perth, Western Australia, the most isolated city in the world, five-piece heavy metal band Innasanatorium were spawned over a mutual love of diverse heavy metal music. Innasanatorium was founded in mid-2018, by Kelvin Edward Whitwell (aka: Justin$anity) and featuring past and present members from Medusa’s Gaze, Suffer In Rot, Sheol of Abbadon and Rapid Fire.

This new band has come out of the blocks with all guns blazing and are now ready to take their unique brand of progressive thrash metal to the masses. Their debut album, Odyssey of The Mind will be released on July 10th, 2021.

Another bout of heaving heaviness from the land down under. The Aussie metal scene is dangerously close to really gaining worldwide attention and it’s bands like Innasanatorium that will be on the tongues of many.

Why? Well, they offer up something a bit different in the world of progressive thrash. Fear not, you’ll get plenty of head-bang inducing riffing, thumping hooks and filthy sounding groove but in a less straight-forward way. Innasanatorium constantly surprise here, whether it be clean singing or a tight and old-school guitar solo or scathing ferocity akin to classic death metal. All of this and more can be found on the mammoth Show Me Your Scars. Now that is how you start an album off.

There are even more unique elements to be found as things go on though. The Decline (Odyssey of The Mind – Part I) is a shifting maelstrom of noise. Savage at times, electric at others, dark and weird at others. Whereas Night Terrors and Shifting Shadows are a pair punchy head-bangers seemingly inspired by classic heavy metal but with intense bursts of extreme heaviness.

It’s something a bit more ‘epic’ sounding with The Despair Album (the vocals really help deliver this) before Innasanatorium – #scottyfrommarketing absolutely nails what this band means by progressive thrash metal. Fun, exciting but also challenging.

Every new track brings new surprises and more reasons to let the hair loose (metaphorically) and just enjoy heavy freaking metal. Science in the House of God, The Desire (Odyssey of The Mind – Part II) and Accelerated Oblivion. The final handful of tracks are as inventive, heavy and enchanting as anything heard so far. The piano-led Outro just serves to remind you that you have listened to something quite special here.

Buy Me a Coffee at

This review can’t be wrapped up without mentioning the bonus track of Freak though. The lovechild of nu-metal and thrash, it’s downright ‘freakish’. It’s not exactly the highlight of the record but it is a bonus track so the fact it doesn’t seem to fit on the album overall hardly matters.

Odyssey of the Mind is an apt title as that’s what Innasanatorium deliver here.

Innasanatorium – Odyssey of the Mind Full Track Listing:

1. Intro
2. Show Me Your Scars
3. The Decline (Odyssey of The Mind – Part I)
4. Night Terrors
5. Shifting Shadows
6. The Despair Album
7. Innasanatorium – #scottyfrommarketing
8. Science In the House of God
9. The Desire (Odyssey of The Mind – Part II)
10. Accelerated Oblivion
11. Outro
12. Freak (Bonus Track)


Spotify | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Innasanatorium - Odyssey Of The Mind (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
9.7/10 (2 votes)