Album Review: Hollywood Undead – New Empire, Vol. 1 (Dove & Grenade Media/BMG)

California’s own Hollywood Undead have announced the release of their highly-anticipated sixth full-length studio album, “New Empire, Vol. 1”, on February 14th, 2020 via Dove & Grenade Media / BMG.

Explains Johnny 3 Tears (vocals, bass guitar):

This album is our attempt at reimagining Hollywood Undead, not just a new sound for this release, but a new sound for the band altogether. Our goal from the outset was to make music that stands alone from our other albums, yet seamlessly fits with what we’ve made before. Building upon the old to create a new sound and a New Empire.

With their trademark no-nonsense groove, combining rap metal with hip-hip electronica, hardcore-style fury and massive choruses, Hollywood Undead are back. Time Bomb as hyperactive and as much of a singalong as everything they’ve done before.

With a mighty call to arms comes Heart of a Champion, one of the strongest tracks of the album. Quickly followed by the one-two punch of Already Dead and Empire. Although the former is the far more enjoyable of the two, especially if you prefer their more metal-orientated music.

While you can admire their ‘do it their way’ approach, when it results in such faux-aggressive statements like Killin’ It, it’s hard to praise. Happily it’s a minor blip as Enemy has a kick-ass chorus and Upside Down has massive meaty guitar groove.

Wrapping up New Empire Vol. 1 with a pair of tracks that showcase both the best and worst of Hollywood Undead. Second Chances, a powerful metal singalong that lifts the spirits and Nightmare, heavier on the hip-hop and layered with annoying effects. While not out-right horrible, it’s not the best ending.

Regardless, what we have is a solid Hollywood Undead album that will please long-term fans and will likely win over many new ones too.

Hollywood Undead – New Empire, Vol. 1 Full Track Listing:

1. Time Bomb
2. Heart of a Champion
3. Already Dead
4. Empire
5. Killin’ It
6. Enemy
7. Upside Down
8. Second Chances
9. Nightmare


Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Hollywood Undead - New Empire, Vol. 1 (Dove & Grenade Media/BMG)
  • The Final Score - 6.5/10
User Review
4 (4 votes)