Album Review: Hex – God Has No Name (Transcending Obscurity Records)

Spain’s best kept secret, Hex, return with a pummeling new full length of death/doom metal music. Reminiscent of early Runemagick, Bolt Thrower, Paradise Lost, Hypocrisy and Unleashed. With members of experienced bands in the lineup such as Virulency, Tomb, Incursed, to name a few. The fiercely titled release ‘God Has No Name’ will go down as the breakthrough album for the band. It will be released on July 5th via Transcending Obscurity Records.

Hex 2

The sinister godless intro of Thy Kingdom Gone sets the scene for an indecent and heavyweight album from a death/doom combination that is filled with depth and darkness. The all consuming kind of depth and darkness but the type that some welcome and others worship.

The powerful and all encompassing heaviness of the opening track is matched by the riffier noise of Soulsculptor and the intensity of the following Worshipping Falsehoods. A track that delivers a thumping percussion performance.

Keeping with the old religious motif, Daevangelism – The Dark Sunset is a grimy doom-infusion of heaviness. The riffs picking up a lot of the slack in regards to making it a more enjoyable listen. Where Gods Shall Not Reign shows off some death metal flair, faster and wilder then most other tracks on the album. It’s a shower of ferocious anger with an absolutely phenomenal level of drumming lightened by some surprising inclusion of female vocals. It works though, it really does.

Apocryphal doesn’t complicate matters. Instead going straight for the jugular with a brutality driven track. Simple enough for Hex but still a cut above in the death/doom departments thanks to the fat vein of bleakness running through it.

Finally it’s All Those Lies That Dwells…one of the longest tracks on the album but more then palatable thanks to the album’s seven track run time. It’s over surprisingly quick. Well worth the investment and ensuring it never overstays it’s welcome. Especially as Hex don’t exactly change the formula up too much throughout.

Hex 1

Hex – God Has No Name Full Track Listing:

1. Thy Kingdom Gone
2. Soulsculptor
3. Worshipping Falsehoods
4. Daevangelism – The Dark Sunset
5. Where Gods Shall Not Reign
6. Apocryphal
7. All Those Lies That Dwells…




Band Facebook | Label Bandcamp | Label Site | Label Facebook | Label YouTube | Label Instagram | Label Twitter


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Hex - God Has No Name (Transcending Obscurity Records)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
5 (1 vote)