Album Review: Hanging Fortress – Darkness Devours (Redefining Darkness Records)

Formed in 2018, Hanging Fortress is a young 5-piece Death Metal band from Toledo, Ohio. After releasing 2 EPs since their inception, their debut LP, Darkness Devours, brings a new level of heavy into the Midwest Metal scene.

Bile-encrusted death metal, Hanging Fortress deliver a beastly listen with their aptly titled debut album, Darkness Devours. Where the goal seems to be to get as disgustingly heavy as humanly possible. Something Hanging Fortress manage with great aplomb, thanks in major part to the absolutely vile sounding vocals.

Although those aren’t the only thing that makes this such a bone-crushing release. This young band also spit out forcefully brutal riffs, the kind that feel like a drill entering the skull and percussion that is like a sledgehammer being taken to the soft parts.

Buy Me a Coffee at

The grim showcase of everything brutal doesn’t let up for even a second. In fact, the pressure put on by Hanging Fortress seems to get more unrelenting as Darkness Devours goes on. The young band aren’t changing the death metal playback here but they are adding new pages for those who have a dog-eared and well worn copy.

Hanging Fortress – Darkness Devours Full Track Listing:

1. Burned Alive
2. Stab Wounds
3. Hanging Fortress
4. Blood Mountain
5. Darkness Devours
6. Drown
7. Killing You





Hanging Fortress - Darkness Devours (Redefining Darkness Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!