Album Review: Hån – Breathing the Void (Northern Silence Productions)

Hån (Norwegian for “scorn”) from Switzerland was founded in 2009 and has ever since been active, on-stage and off, even though “Breathing the Void” is only their second album after the acclaimed 2016 debut “Facilis Descensus Averni”.

The new album continues where the debut left off – with raw, yet melodic and sometimes atmospheric blasphemy that is recommended for fans of bands like Sargeist, Satanic Warmaster, Baptism or Drowning the Light.

Breathing the Void will be released on January 29th, 2021 via Northern Silence Productions.

Like the gnarled roots of an ancient tree in a cold and dark Norwegian forest, there’s something majestic and terrifying about Hån. They’re clearly drawing from the deep well of old-school black metal but they’re far from constrained by the sometimes-flavourless taste.

There is a fair bit more melodic rhythm to this album even though it is absurdly ferocious in their icy cold way. Filled with vigour at times, battle-weary at others but constantly at war for the soul, Breathing the Void leaves scars.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Scars that can be admired because of how much was endured and how survival wasn’t always guaranteed. That might seem like hyperbole (of course!) but the 9 (excluding an intro) tracks require stamina. The full-on brutality is always at the forefront, but the daring inclusion of clever and unobtrusive melodies really makes such a difference to the overall temperament of the record. Simply put, it stands out way more than many other records that promise the same thing.

Hån – Breathing the Void Full Track Listing:

1. Intro
2. Breathing the Void
3. Olethrus
4. Enter an Eternal World
5. Goatman
6. Asterion
7. Dissent
8. Lost Souls
9. Salvation


Bandcamp | Website


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Hån - Breathing the Void (Northern Silence Productions)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
9.5/10 (5 votes)