Album Review: Hammer King – Poseidon Will Carry Us Home (Cruz Del Sur Music)

Featuring 11 songs of pure and bombastic true metal, ‘Poseidon Will Carry Us Home’ finds German classic power metal outfit, Hammer King honing in on their obvious strengths and expanding their sonic palette at the same time.

Poseidon Will Carry Us Home features a series of taut, but also mighty songs, including their most adventurous feat to date: The “Nautical Trilogy” detailing the epic adventures of “The King” himself.

The album will be out on October 5th 2018 via Cruz Del Sur Music.

Hammer King 2

Kicking off the vibrant colourful album is the title track, one that lays out the power metal capabilities of Hammer King well. It’s sharp but easy to digest thanks to a pretty crisp production job.

The classic elements of heavy metal slot along nicely with the hefty power metal groove and vocals but it’s not just there that Hammer King shine. Battle of Wars has a bit of folky zip and bounce, 7 Days and 7 Kings is a call to arms for the metal fans out there while Where the Hammer Hangs demands fists in the air and truthfully, it’s hard to not obey.

It’s not always so easy to give yourself to the bombastic effort though as Last Rites and At the Mercy of the Waves fail to ignite anything but nods of approval. It also ends with a bit of a whimper as Meatus Majestatis is found to be lacking. Almost as though Hammer King have run out of steam.

That being said, Hammer King are just a lot of fun sending out good vibes with their energetic metal and while it doesn’t always hit the right spot with a few of the tracks, what we do get is the sound of a powerful and focused band.

Hammer King 1

Hammer King – Poseidon Will Carry Us Home Full Track Listing:

1. Poseidon Will Carry Us Home
2. The King is a Deadly Machine
3. Battle of Wars
4. 7 Days and 7 Kings
5. Warriors of Angelhill
6. Where the Hammer Hangs
7. Last Rites
8. Glorious Night of Glory
9. Locust Plague
10. At the Mercy of the Waves
11. We Sail Cape Horn
12. Meatus Majestatis

You can order the album via Cruz Del Sur Music here and earlier releases over on Hammer King’s Bandcamp. Find out more by checking out the band’s website, Twitter, Facebook Page and YouTube.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Hammer King - Poseidon Will Carry Us Home (Cruz Del Sur Music)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)