Album Review: Gama Bomb – Speed Between The Lines (AFM Records)

Irish thrashers Gama Bomb will release their blistering new album ‘Speed Between The Lines’ on October 12th 2018 via AFM Records.

Bassist Joe McGuigan on Speed Between The Lines: “Our aim with this record was keep refining the Game Bomb thrash formula. It’s got faster and more punky riffing, battling axes and catchy, memorable choruses from Philly, who’s back with the Halford/Belladona notes after injuring his voice a few years back.”

The album will be available as CD, clear yellow gatefold Vinyl (ltd. to 250 units), turquoise gatefold Vinyl (ltd. to 250 units), clear/red gatefold and vinyl red/black splatter (ltd. to 100 units) which is exclusively available in the AFM webshop.

Gama Bomb 2

The sixth album from the energetic thrash band isn’t changing the Gama Bomb formula up much in regards to the style of music they play. It’s hard-hitting metal played at a ferocious pace with old-school heavy vocal notes wailing away.

This is Gama Bomb and that’s all you need to know. Long-time fans will be very pleased with this new album as Give Me Leather burns as bright as the sun, A Hanging fires off a white-hot guitar solo and 666teen will lave you feeling parched thanks to its chant of “happy birthday, six-six-six-teen!”

Within the first three tracks, you’ll know if this is your jam or not but few won’t find something they don’t enjoy as this is thrash with a bit of swagger and smile on its face.

In fact the longer it goes on, the more it grows on you. Like a sore that you can’t stop touching and picking at. With a number of short, punkier tunes in the latter half, the likes of Alt Reich, Stay Rotten and We R Going 2 Eat U keep things exciting as the album steamrolls to its conclusion.

It’s a strong conclusion too with Kurt Russell adding a bit of tongue in cheek comedy to proceedings and Faceblaster doing exactly what it says by applying so much force that faces will be torn off!

Gama Bomb 1

Gama Bomb – Speed Between the Lines Full Track Listing:

1. Give Me Leather
2. A Hanging
3. 666teen
4. Bring Out the Monster
5. R.I.P.U.
6. Motorgeist
7. Alt Reich
8. Stay Rotten
9. We R Going 2 Eat U
10. Kurt Russell
11. World Gone to Hell
12. Faceblaster

[amazon_link asins=’B07FVFD6ZK,B07FPW4PJ1,B07FPV54J2,B07FPTSK5P’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’57f20dea-bd7e-11e8-a194-ed26bf470822′]

You can order the album via AFM Records here and it will be available via all major streaming services.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Gama Bomb - Speed Between The Lines (AFM Records)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)