Album Review: Gaerea – Unsettling Whispers (Transcending Obscurity Records)

Gaerea have turned the genre of black metal on its head. The Portuguese band take the sound forward and seamlessly integrate influences from other genres like hardcore and sludge. Unsettling Whispers is the much-awaited full length album coming after their universally lauded self-titled EP. The album will be released on June 22nd via Transcending Obscurity Records.

Gaerea 2

Poignant melody, distant screams and whispered vocals introduce Gaerea as Svn begins to take hold of your mind. A touch of the post-metal about it, it’s a hungry and desperate sounding opener especially when the real darkness seeps in. A volatile and beastly final minute or two makes sure you know where Gaerea’s true sound lies.

The beast is unleashed now as Absent and Whispers up the quality with raging storms of black metal heaviness. It’s thrilling stuff but the highlight of the album comes in the form of Lifeless Immortality, a track that has beauty hidden in its depths. The rueful rhythm playing off the black metal savageness perfectly.

There is never a moment where Gaerea aren’t doing everything possible to blow your mind or melt your face off. Unsettling Whispers is a truly spectacular effort that shows how forward-thinking black metal can be in the modern day.

Gaerea 1

Gaerea – Unsettling Whispers Full Track Listing:

1. Svn
2. Absent
3. Whispers
4. Lifeless Immortality
5. Extension to Nothingness
6. Cycle of Decay
7. Catharsis



You can order the album via Bandcamp here and via Transcending Obscurity Records here. Find out more/keep up to date with news by liking Gaerea’s Facebook Page.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Gaerea - Unsettling Whispers (Transcending Obscurity Records)
  • The Final Score - 9.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)