Album Review: Frigoris – …in Stille (Hypnotic Dirge Records)

In Stille, the fourth album by atmospheric black metal group Frigoris, is the long-awaited conclusion to the concept introduced in their third full length, Nur Ein Moment… (2016).

It will be released by Hypnotic Dirge Records on January 24th 2020.

Emotionally draining, emotionally harrowing and emotionally horrifying, Firgoris’ understand atmospheric black metal. They have clear grasp on how to be both ugly and beautiful and the same time. We have mellow passages of melody that eases the pain and suffering caused by the ugliness of the black metal. Scarring heaviness that pours from troubled souls, the chaotic rhythm is saved by the sadness covered lighter melodies. Without a shadow of doubt, most will get this from the Aurora stirbt alone.

This is an epic though so there is plenty more to comes.

The doomier tempo that introduces Funkenflug is a little different but it’s not too long after that the guitars ring out morosely and the black metal fire really starts to burn. The struggle to keep their emotions in check is clear to hear with Frigoris here. A battle they just about win although black metal passion is the dominating force on the following Das Licht in Mir.

Sticking solidly to their style of ringing guitar rhythm and fast-paced drumming, Stimmen im Regen is another lengthy crawl thorough the murky mire of emotions mixed with intense black metal speed. It’s very good but not quite as good as the reflective sweetness of the melody that introduces Einkehr. A track that takes so much of what has been good so far and steps it up an extra level. Stunning is the word that comes to mind.

With most tracks passing the 8 minute mark and some going even longer, you could be forgiven for thinking this all gets a little old after a while. However, that’s not the case as Firgoris have buckets of imagination and buckets of talent. It’s constantly interesting and constantly moving, each new high and low creating wonder. If the tear-jerking end of Scheideweg had been the finale, it would have been more then satisfying.

That’s not the case though as Die Gleise an denen wir starben I and Die Gleise an denen wir starben II are still to come. The former is the shortest track at just three minutes and serves almost as intro to the latter. Three minutes of haunting acoustic and folkish melody whereas the latter is nearly 13 minutes of powerful atmospheric blackness. An unimaginable epic that is beauty personified from the darker side of metal blended perfectly with Frigoris’ inimitable atmospheric melodies.

The best atmospheric black metal release of 2020? It’s far too early to say but it won’t come as much of a surprise to see this near the top of the ‘best of’ lists come the end of the year.

Frigoris – …in Stille Full Track Listing:

1. Aurora stirbt
2. Funkenflug
3. Das Licht in Mir
4. Stimmen im Regen
5. Einkehr
6. Scheideweg
7. Die Gleise an denen wir starben I
8. Die Gleise an denen wir starben II






  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Frigoris - Stille (Hypnotic Dirge Records)
  • The Final Score - 9.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)