Album Review: Flotsam and Jetsam – The End Of Chaos (AFM Records)

True fighters, the Phoenix-based five-piece Flotsam and Jetsam led by originals A.K. and guitarist Michael Gilbert (along with longtime bassist Michael Spencer, guitarist Steve Conley and drummer Ken Mary) have been doing battle in the trenches since the early ‘80s.

Their back now with their blistering new album ‘The End Of Chaos’ on 18th January 2019 on AFM Records.

Flotsam 2

Twelve tracks and nearly 50 minutes of white-knuckle, frenzied and pedal to the metal old-school thrash. Flotsam and Jetsam’s fire still burns bright and across The End of Chaos they prove that they’re just as relevant as ever.

From the intensity of the rhythm section to the power of the double bass and the energetic vocal performance, The End of Chaos provides an exciting and heavy experience.

The first half sees the old-school metallers smash their way through roaring tracks like Prisoner of Time, Recover, Prepare for Chaos and Architects of Hate without taking much of a breather at all. It’s constant high tempo with little compromise but it’s not like anyone is asking for it!

In fact, the only time Flotsam and Jetsam take their foot off the gas is to build towards even more intensity. The riffs are constant, the solos fly out like hellspawn emerging from the depths of the earth and the vocals are fired off like bullets. It’s exciting and high quality for the most part.

Being 12 tracks long, it’s no real surprise that there are few ‘filler’ tracks that don’t spark a constant positive reaction. These come in in the latter part of the album, namely the forgettable Unwelcome Surprise and the bland Survive. Nothing tracks, especially when held up against what comes elsewhere.

Still, overall the thrashers have crafted a wonderful return to cement their legacy and ensure that no-one will be thinking they’re done just yet. Even if the album title and final track, The End might suggest differently.

Flotsam 1

Flotsam and Jetsam – The End of Chaos Full Track Listing:

1. Prisoner Of Time
2. Control
3. Recover
4. Prepare Of Chaos
5. Slowly Insane
6. Architects Of Hate
7. Demolition Man
8. Unwelcome Surprise
9. Snake Eye
10. Survive
11. Good Or Bad
12. The End

[amazon_link asins=’B07JH1P4GC,B07K14LZ8X,B07JGDNYL4,B07JGPP8LL’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’ba3b671d-045f-11e9-ab3f-35b150e6a238′]

The album will be available via all major digital and streaming services including Spotify, iTunes and from AFM Records here.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Flotsam and Jetsam - The End Of Chaos (AFM Records)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)