Album Review: Flood Peak – Plagued by Sufferers (Self Released)

Flood Peak emerged from Portland, Oregon in 2016. With a mix of chaotic and droning riffs, frantic drums, sparsely raw vocals, and monstrous bass that creates a delicate wall of filth, their sound will surely appeal to Amenra, Grief and Inter Arma admirers.

Their debut album is called Plagued by Sufferers and is out now.

Flood Peak 2

The drone metal doom sound of Flood Peak is dripping in menace and malice delivering a harsh and uncomfortable listen. Atmospheric but leaning way more towards an oppressive style, the 4 tracks of Plagued by Sufferers are designed to leave you with an uneasy feeling.

The fuzz of the riffs in Precursor scratches away at your brain while the booming percussion rattles your teeth. Scourge’s slower rhythm and raw vocals sounds like the countdown to the end of the world. It’s fascinating stuff but the best comes with Mire, a track that has more of the post-metal about it with some truly exceptional riffs.



Flood Peak have crafted a momentous album here. One that demands every second of your time and with the 11-minute Veiled by Summoners delivering a contemptuous metal track with relaxing passages of melody you better bloody give it.

Flood Peak 1

Flood Peak – Plagued by Sufferers Full Track Listing:

1. Precursor
2. Scourge
3. Mire
4. Veiled by Summoners

[amazon_link asins=’B079KCB1L8,B079K5Q5BM,B079K8MS36,B079K83J2P’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’1ef870ab-768b-11e8-9e0d-9b105178434a’]

You can pick the album up now via Bandcamp, Spoitify, Google Play and Apple Music below. Find out more/keep up to date with news by liking Flood Peak’s Facebook Page and following them on Instagram.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Flood Peak - Plagued by Sufferers (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)