Album Review: Finnr’s Cane – Elegy (Prophecy Productions)

Elegy is the third full length from Prophecy Productions atmospheric black metal stalwarts Finnr’s Cane. The Canadian band has been carefully plotting a follow up to 2013’s A Portrait Painted By The Sun and the next chapter in their musical journey falls perfectly in conjunction with the bands 10th birthday. The album will be unleashed on July 20th 2018.

In the words of founding member, The Bard: “Our vision is always to create the kind of music that we want to hear. The music on ‘Elegy’ places a lot of emphasis on emotion, and there is a sad yet uplifting feel to much of it. The sound is lush and atmospheric. Musically it’s a blend of many different genres that we’ve come to enjoy… It’s a very beautiful sounding album; listening to it is very therapeutic for me, and I hope others can find some degree of solace in it as well.”

Drummer The Peasant tells us “The songs on ‘Elegy’ are more structured than those from our previous two albums. While the foundation of the music is still rooted in traditional metal, minimalism, and improvisation, with this release we focused more heavily on dynamics and atmosphere. The final product is a musical experience that can set your mind adrift.”

Elegy 2

The huge and haunted atmospheres that are so present in Finnr’s Cane’s latest release, Elegy makes this a black metal album that differs from the norm. The focus being on emotional passages rather then dark & heavy metal.

It’s dark, it’s morose but most importantly, it’s good. A strong start in Willow is followed up with the more haunted rhythm of the title track and the heavier paced Strange Sun. After spending three tracks setting things up, it then comes as a surprise that Empty City has a more folk-metal feel. Something that is welcome, though.

Don’t let these words confuse though, Finnr’s Cane are heavy as anything when they want to be as Earthsong delivers brutalising passages alongside their wonderful melodies and Lacuna layers the darkness on thickly.

There is no escaping the fact that the latter half of Elegy is better as Finnr’s Cane seemingly find their groove and then just build on it. Ending on a epic as you would expect, A Sky of Violet and Pearl takes everything good heard so far and punches its time-card out emphatically.

Elegy 1

Finnr’s Cane – Elegy Full Track Listing:

1. Willow
2. Elegy
3. Strange Sun
4. Empty City
5. Earthsong
6. Lacuna
7. A Sky of Violet and Pearl



You can order physical copies of the album here and digitally on Bandcamp. Find out more/keep up to date with news by liking their Facebook Page.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Finnr's Cane - Elegy (Prophecy Productions)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)