Album Review: Eximperitus – Šahrartu (Willowtip Records)

Belarusian occult technical death metal band Eximperitus (shortened from Eximperituserqethhzebibšiptugakkathšulweliarzaxułum) will release their second full-length album Šahrartu on January 29th 2021 via Willowtip Records.

Nice and chuggy, nice and dark, nice and heavy… Eximperitus get their new album off to a mind-numbing start with the title track. The drawn-out guitar tones buzzing through the skull and putting everything on edge. It tells you almost everything you need to know about this album as it introduces deeper elements building to a crescendo of noise on Utpada.

Still rooted in the darkness, the vocals make themselves known here and like horrors emerging from the shadows, they make the knees go weak. Such is the guttural power, backed up by the filthiest of instrumentation, this is one of the heaviest tracks you’re likely to hear all year.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Although it’s not like the following Tahadu or Anhutu are lightweights by any stretch. Instead, both double down on the absolute bone-crushing noise and leave the mind in tatters. That they are then capable of pulling out a 10+ minute effort from their bag of death metal tricks is astounding.

Inqirad is a slow burner too. Where the howls of guitar, the absolute agony gives way to a thumping slab of percussion. Then the throaty roar of vocals signals things are about to get really nasty and unsurprisingly, Eximperitus deliver. It’s such an intense track, it’s impossible to not love every second of it.

How do you follow that slice of brilliance? By ending in eerie and warbling echoes as Riqutu showcases. An odd finale but effective because of the intensity of the task that was the tracks that came before.

More people need to be talking about Eximperitus and after this release, there is no doubt more will.

Eximperitus – Šahrartu Full Track Listing:

1. Sahrartu
2. Utpada
3. Tahadu
4. Anhutu
5. Inqirad
6. Riqutu


Bandcamp | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | Willowtip Records


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Eximperitus - Šahrartu (Willowtip Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
9/10 (2 votes)