Album Review: Evile – Hell Unleashed (Napalm Records)

Since their formation in 2004, British thrash titans Evile have been turning heads and taking names, delivering four pure thrash offerings blended with an uncompromising death metal assault. Their upcoming fifth studio album, Hell Unleashed, out April 30th, 2021 via Napalm Records, is the long-awaited successor to their 2013 release, Skull, and features the new exciting line-up formation of the talented Ol Drake on vocals/guitars and new member Adam Smith of RipTide as rhythm guitarist.

Beloved for all the right reasons, Evile has been grinding the thrash axe for some time but have never really received the recognition they deserve. After an incredible 8 year gap between albums, that is about to change though. Hell Unleashed is Evile reborn and reenergised, all while staying true to what fans love about them. No nonsense, head-bang inducing thrash metal music.

No screwing around, Evile emerge from their slumber with the rollicking speed and heavy gruffness of Paralysed and Gore. The vocals less sung and more spat out with disgust. As if keeping them in is poisonous. A consistent thing across the whole album as it turns out.

Evile are on top form here as the sinister thickness of the start of Incarcerated gives way to blazing riffs and frenzied drumming. Chuggy and chunky, this is a highlight. War of Attrition then drops a barrage of thrash heaviness to shake the earth’s core and Disorder lives up to its name by being a frantic expulsion of noise. Punctuated by a ripping guitar solo. It’s awesome stuff.

Evile then take inspiration from one of horror’s finest, The Thing (1982) for their wildest thrash offering so far. Dripping in intensity and tension, the pure unbridled terror caused by the speed this band plays at here is a fitting tribute. When they do drop the tempo it’s to send listeners into convulsions with the heftiest of riffs. Another absolute ranger from Evile.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Though they’re far from done yet as the thrashers unleash Zombie Apocalypse. A super-short blast with the crunchiest of latter parts. Control From Above has a similar kind of thickness but the slower pace makes for a nice breather even if Evile are as heavy as always. Also, they know exactly when to pick the tempo up and the latter part of the track does have them go absolutely wild.

Which brings us to the end and the absolute beast that is the title track, Hell Unleashed. A fitting title as this is Evile at their most savage. The unbridled aggression, the fiery speed, the snarling vocals and group shouts of the track title, the raging soloing… this is the Evile we all know and love.

A massive album for this band. This rejuvenated Evile is a very exciting prospect and only an idiot would ignore them now.

Evile – Hell Unleashed Full Track Listing:

1. Paralysed
2. Gore
3. Incarcerated
4. War of Attrition
5. Disorder
6. The Thing (1982)
7. Zombie Apocalypse
8. Control From Above
9. Hell Unleashed


Website | Facebook | Instagram | | Napalm Records


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Evile - Hell Unleashed (Napalm Records)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
7.1/10 (5 votes)