Album Review: Dying Fetus – Wrong One to Fuck With (Relapse Records)

Dying Fetus’ 8th album, Wrong One to Fuck With sees the death metal band continue their smash-mouth, highly aggressive & in your face style. With a hardcore & rabid fanbase they’ve carved out a comfortable niche for themselves within the metal community even if their brand of death can hardly be called inspired stuff.

Dying Fetus 1

A thumping beat & furious riffing welcomes the listener to Wrong One to Fuck With. Low & dirty, Fixated on Devastation is a very strong opener thanks to the sense of urgency Dying Fetus seems to have.

That continues into Panic Amongst the Herd & Die with Integrity. It’s brutal & while it’s not the most exciting it is very listenable. It gets under the skin & you want to hear more.

A darker & moodier style rears its ugly head for Revealing in the Abyss, the longest track on the album. A song so full of sweat, blood & bile that you can almost smell it. It goes on for a bit too long though, getting a bit a rambling near the end.

Wrong One to Fuck With is 54 minutes worth of a constant, brutal & fiery assault. If you’re not a fan of this style of music you’re likely to start checking out around the middle. It can get a bit flabby in places but songs like Ideological Subjugation, Weaken the Structure & Unmitigated Detestation have some stunning guitar medleys that seem almost inhuman at the pace they are spat out.

The album is packed with serious quality, one of the better death metal releases this year.

Dying Fetus 2

Dying Fetus – Wrong One to Fuck With Full Track Listing:

1. Fixated on Devastation
2. Panic Amongst the Herd
3. Die With Integrity
4. Revelling in the Abyss
5. Seething with Disdain
6. Ideological Subjugation
7. Weaken the Structure
8. Fallacy
9. Unmitigated Detestation
10. Wrong One to Fuck With
11. Induce Terror (Bonus Track)

Wrong One to Fuck With is out now via Relapse Records & you can check it out via Apple Music below.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Dying Fetus - Wrong One to Fuck With (Relapse Records)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *