Album Review: Depravity – Grand Malevolence (Transcending Obscurity Records)

After releasing a ground-breaking album in ‘Evil Upheaval’, Australian death metal giants Depravity take things to the next level on their new album ‘Grand Malevolence’. Out on December 4th 2020 via Transcending Obscurity Records.

Pushing the limits of death metal, no easy task at all, Depravity unleash one of the 2020’s most extreme albums. An 11-track slab of brittle and brutal death metal that is meticulously layered with progressive elements and coated with horrifying ruthlessness. The sound of a band high on what they are producing here and challenging themselves to set a new bar for intensity.

Not for the faint-hearted, Grand Malevolence rips through the soft under-belly of modern metal to reach the guts. Dragging the innards out and leaving them splayed for all to see as a warning for those who doubt the impact that death metal continues to have.

Buy Me a Coffee at

However, it’s not just because it is non-stop ferociousness that the album is so appealing. It’s a major part of it, but it’s the detail that makes all the difference. Depravity have skills and they use those skills to add depth to their eye-watering instrumentation.

Just listen to the drums and bass for example, the backbone of this album. It’s not all panicky power, there’s some clever patterns that throw out curveballs every so often. Then there are the guitars, spitting out feverish riffs consistently but also these insanely comprehensive embellishments that boost a track every single time they hit. Last but not least, the vocals are as guttural as you could hope for. Throat-shredding, raspy and gurgling, the perfect complement to everything else.

Death metal at its most soul-destroying.

Depravity – Grand Malevolence Full Track Listing:

1. Indulging Psychotic Thoughts
2. Grand Malevolence
3. Invalid Majesty
4. Cantankerous Butcher
5. Trophies of Inhumanity
6. Castrate the Perpetrators
7. The Coming of the Hammering
8. Barbaric Eternity
9. Hallucination Aflame
10. Epitome of Extinction
11. Ghosts in the Void


Bandcamp | Facebook | Transcending Obscurity Records

Depravity - Grand Malevolence (Transcending Obscurity Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!