Album Review: Depleted Uranium – Origins (Self Released)

Toronto’s Depleted Uranium’s forthcoming album ‘Origins’ is due out on January 28th, 2022. Depleted Uranium deliver a mathematically precise, fast-paced and aggressive sound with material for Origins being written ten years ago when the band first got together. It serves as a history of who they are and where they come from and it is meant to be listened to in reference to their self-titled debut release.

A 9-track album that comes short of 17 minutes, unless you get the CD version which includes 1 extra track and ups the runtime to nearly 22 minutes. If that doesn’t fill you with fear and wonder, nothing will. Depleted Uranium have gone back to their origins here and pulled together an album’s worth of material that can best be described as carnage.

An album of blistering technicality complimented by pure aggression and furious intensity. Think Converge or The Dillinger Escape Plan but less refined and more chaotic. How insane does that sound?

There’s barely time to process what you’re hearing here before it ends. Depleted Uranium begin with a massacre on their minds and refuse to let up until everyone and everything is left in a pool of blood. The killing blows aren’t delivered by the blunt heaviness though but rather the razor-sharp technicality of each track. Where the entire album blends into one brain-aching mush but no two tracks sound the same either.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Not including the bonus track, only 1 track passes the 3-minute mark and most barely touch 2. That should give you some idea of just how fast and frantic this entire album is. Just try and keep up, you’ll fail but you’ll try again and again. It’s carnage but carnage you’ll want to experience over and over again.

Depleted Uranium – Origins Full Track Listing:

1. Depleted Uranium
2. The Tear and the Flood
3. Alpha Particles
4. Van Halen Radiation Belt
5. Beta Particles
6. Counter Balance
7. Deficiencies
8. Small Odds
9. Open Wound Diaries
10. Percentages (CD Only – Bonus Track)


Website | Facebook | Instagram | YouTubeBandcamp | Spotify


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Depleted Uranium - Origins (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
8.23/10 (3 votes)