Album Review: De Profundis – The Blinding Light Of Faith (Transcending Obscurity Records)

Death metal band De Profundis have had an illustrious career. Over the years, they’ve kept perfecting their sound resulting in their fifth full length, The Blinding Light Of Faith. A bold step forward for the band into heavier territories.

The band had this to say about their new album:

“The Blinding Light of Faith is an album about three of the most merciless and bloodthirsty institutions in human history. There is no nation or people on this earth who haven’t suffered under the savagery of at least one of the Abrahamic religions and to reflect that suffering we have made the heaviest, most aggressive record of our career.”

It will be released on May 10th 2018 via Transcending Obscurity Records.

De Profundis 2

Not just crushing death metal but crushing death metal with layers. The Blinding Light of Faith is an album that is aggressive and very heavy but gives the listener plenty of complex riffing, fascinating hooks and surprising turns.

This is a fresh and renewed sounding De Profundis but one with a hefty statement to make. With the likes of Obsidian Spires and War Be Upon Him that force explodes outwards resulting in an eye-watering listen.

It takes talent to turn this level of visceral heaviness into not just a listenable record but a damn good one. Thankfully, De Profundis have that talent by the bucket load.

Look no further then the sublime ferocity of Bastard Sons of Abraham to see that talent in operation. The riffs here are one thing but the bass lines are another. It will make the hairs stand up all over your body.

The dark tone of the album, one that is steeped in religious opinions and thoughts reaches its apex with the staggeringly good, Martyrs.

The Blinding Light of Faith is a spell-binding release perfected by the penultimate track, Beyond Judgement and the roaring epic, Bringer of Light that closes things off in stunning style.

This is the sound of a band at the top of their game. A band that have released their most accomplished work to date. Don’t you dare miss out.



De Profundis 1

De Profundis – The Blinding Light of Faith Full Track Listing:

1. Obsidian Spires
2. War Be Upon Him
3. Opiate For The Masses
4. Bastard Sons Of Abraham
5. Martyrs
6. Godforsaken
7. Beyond Judgement
8. Bringer Of Light

[amazon_link asins=’B012SX7ZKE,B016GDO4VU,B016GDOUXM,B016GDOP1E’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’07d34b1f-4243-11e8-ae6d-6529e3b6e4ff’]

You can order the album now in a number of formats via Transcending Obscurity Records and via Bandcamp. Stream earlier releases via Spotify and Apple Music below. Find out more/keep up to date with news by checking out their website, liking their Facebook Page, following them on TwitterInstagram and subscribing on YouTube.

De Profundis - The Blinding Light Of Faith (Transcending Obscurity Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.