Album Review: Dawn of Ouroboros – Velvet Incandescence (Prosthetic Records)

Following their signing to Prosthetic Records and successful tours across both the West and East Coasts of the United States, Oakland, CA’s Dawn Of Ouroboros are set to release their sophomore album, Velvet Incandescence, via the Los Angeles label on April 21st, 2023!

With haunting melody and dreamy vocals at the forefront, Dawn Of Ouroboros ease listeners in to this new album with a growing display of shoegaze. Pay deep attention to opener Healing Grounds and you won’t be taken back by the blackened tone switch that comes. The furious intensity capturing the imagination through the sheer force of the band’s dramatic transformation.

Building on that epic start with Testudines, a track that features manic instrumentation and vocals that alternate between hellish howls and heavenly highs. Before Iron Whispers showcases enigmatic melodies, powerful heavy rhythm, and an overall bleak tone that sinks heavily into the deep recesses of the mind. Dawn Of Ouroboros having blown all expectations out of the water with the first few tracks.

Buy Me a Coffee at

They’re a supremely interesting band with varied ideas and no end to their creativity as the combination of warm, starry melody and blistering blackened post metal that comes from Levitating Pacifics shows. At just over 8-minutes long, it is one of the more expansive tracks on the album. Although the following Rise from Disillusion is no slouch either and delivers a monumental display of gorgeous and heart-rendering heaviness. These two tracks here are the strongest examples of what Dawn Of Ouroboros have accomplished on this new album.

Yet there can be no ignoring Castigation or Cephalopodic Void either. Both tracks deepening the connection felt through a garish display of melodic savagery. The album culminating in what could be seen as the best track on the album. One that is dripping in atmosphere, delivers high emotion, and pounds with blackened post-metallic force. It is an immense closer and it’s hard not to marvel at what has been accomplished on Velvet Incandescence.

Dawn Of Ouroboros – Velvet Incandescence Track Listing:

1. Healing Grounds
2. Testudines
3. Iron Whispers
4. Levitating Pacifics
5. Rise from Disillusion
6. Castigation
7. Cephalopodic Void
8. Velvet Moon


Bandcamp | Spotify | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Dawn of Ouroboros - Velvet Incandescence (Prosthetic Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
9.55/10 (2 votes)