Album Review: Dark Awake/Regard Extrême – The Odyssey – Split (La Esencia Records)

A split concept album coming from Dark Awake and Regard Extrême, The Odyssey was released on June 21st 2018. Together they have created a mythological concept album about Ulysses and his adventures, inspired by the Greek poem Homer’s Odyssey.

Limited to 300 copies, the CD version comes in a beautiful 3 panel digipack, an 8-page booklet and embossed letters on the cover.



This is an album for fans of neo-classical, ethereal and dark ambient music. A haunting soundtrack that is heavily steeped in epic folklore, both bands will delight in their ability to create a majestic score to accompany their inspirations.

However, this not something you can just throw on and listen to a track while you work out or go for a jog. This is lights down, candles burning and full on lose yourself in the music. If you’ve never had a taste for darkened ambience this won’t change your mind although it is really well done.

It’s probably more in keeping with an epic video game style soundtrack then a movie one which is no bad thing. Listening to the likes of Circle (Metamorphosis), Scylla and Charybdis and Mentor (A Message from a Goddess) conjures up images of the likes of Assassin’s Creed or Dark Souls.

It’s something a bit different and there has clearly been a lot of love and effort put in. The mythological concept comes through well and it leaves you feeling inspired. If this is your sort of thing, of course.

Odyssey 1

Dark Awake/Regard Extrême – The Odyssey Full Track Listing:

  1. Towards a Long Journey
  2. Polyphemus (A Trick Against the Cyclops)
  3. The Land of Laistrygones
  4. Teiresias (Prophet in the Underworld)
  5. Circle (Metamorphosis)
  6. The Sirens (Fascinating Song)
  7. Scylla and Charybdis
  8. The Island of Sun God (Helios)
  9. Ogygia (Calypso’s Island)
  10. Mentor (A Message from a Goddess)
  11. Ithaca (The Return of the King)

You can pick up the album now over on Dark Awake’s Bandcamp.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Dark Awake/Regard Extrême - The Odyssey - Split (La Esencia Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)