Album Review: Cynabare Urne – Obsidian Daggers and Cinnabar Skulls (Helter Skelter/Regain Records)

Formed in 2014, Cynabare Urne are a power-trio hailing from Finland. Despite being a new formation, the members of Cynabare Urne possess a wealth of experience in the metal underground, across a wide variety of extreme styles, and with that experience dating back to even the mid ‘90s.

Their highly anticipated debut album, Obsidian Daggers and Cinnabar Skulls will be released on October 30th 2020 via Helter Skelter Productions (distributed & marketed by Regain Records).

The eruption of infectious noise that comes from Erida Evoken immediately puts the mind in a bleak and black mood as only the darkest of metal can do. This is black metal but not quite your daddy’s black metal.

Fresh and modern, we have tracks that are dripping in weighty atmosphere and are unapologetically brutal sounding. Across 10 skull-crushing tracks Cynabare Urne prove just why this debut album has been so hotly anticipated.



Other highlights include Hidden in the Light’s chest-thumping drum beat. The ritualistic drone of Baal-Berit that causes troubling thoughts to flit through the head. The commanding stance and unfiltered savagery of Dauntless They Are and the wild tribute to everything brutal that comes from blackened death metal of Last of the Icons. Something that also throws in a surprising doomy segment.

Buy Me a Coffee at

It was worth the wait.

Cynabare Urne – Obsidian Daggers and Cinnabar Skulls Full Track Listing:

1. Erida Evoken
2. Prometheus Bound
3. Hidden in the Higher Light
4. Baal-Berit
5. Escaping Xibalba
6. Dauntless They Are
7. Besmirch Curse
8. Di Inferi Chaos
9. Last of the Icons Alive
10. Misotheist


Bandcamp | Facebook | Helter Skelter Productions

Cynabare Urne - Obsidian Daggers and Cinnabar Skulls (Helter Skelter/Regain Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
5.1/10 (2 votes)