Album Review: Crooked Royals – Quarter Life Daydream (3DOT Recordings)

Quarter Life Daydream is the debut album from New Zealand band Crooked Royals. They infuse metalcore with moments of head-spinning off-kilter prog, alternative melodies, and even nocturnal trap R&B. The album will be released on October 21st, 2022 via 3DOT Recordings.

Lighting up the mental pathways with an energised and colourful blast of modern metal, Crooked Royals enter the fray with aplomb. Glass Hands’ initial flurry is startlingly fast and heavy but this is a track that has a lot more to showcase. The chorus, for example, is pleasantly melodic and undeniably anthemic.

Buy Me a Coffee at

If that opener hasn’t sold you on the capabilities of Crooked Royals, Ill Manor will do the job as Crooked Royals showcase bursts of roust heaviness and uber-melodic tones. Easing from one to the other and hitting another thrilling high with the chorus. From that to Waypoint and the expansion of Crooked Royals sound into more progressively challenging areas. Yet, it’s also a track with some the fieriest vocals of all. A track that resonates, a track with heart and soul.

Forget melody with Counterfeit though. It’s Crooked Royals going all out with a leaden example of how menacing their sound can be. The short length reflected in the growling intensity the band showcase.

A medley of progressive guitars, a ménage of poppy/R&B infused vocals, and manic metalcore makes Owed to You one of the album’s most unique and challenging listens. Only for Copacetic’s epic melodies and frenzied attacks of metal to push things to even further limits. Before it’s all out mayhem with the heaviest track on the album, Paper Warrior. Yet, that heaviness is just part of this track’s brilliance. Another is the melodic pace-switch and the rest coming from the incredible magic Crooked Royals are creating with the guitars.

A debut to remember is then wrapped up with Between You and I and Crooked Royals most heartfelt sounding melodies. A track with passion, a track with heart, and a track to make you feel. Almost starry at times, it’s a piece of music that you know fans of this band will simply adore. It’s an excellent ending.

Crooked Royals – Quarter Life Daydream Full Track Listing:

1. Glass Hands
2. Ill Manor
3. Waypoint
4. Counterfeit
5. Owed To You
6. Copacetic
7. Paper Warrior
8. Between You And I


Spotify | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | TikTok


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Crooked Royals - Quarter Life Daydream (3DOT Recordings)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
10/10 (1 vote)