2 PAGE SPREAD for CD BOOKLET (9.5 x 4.71875) (Page 1)

Album Review: Countless Skies – Resonance (Willowtip Records)

UK-based melodic death metal band Countless Skies will release ‘Resonance’, a selection of tracks from the band’s first two albums, performed live from the studio with cellist Arianna Mahsayeh (who also appeared on latest album Glow). Willowtip Records will release the album on Digipak, vinyl LP, and digital formats, on May 5th, 2023.

Consisting of selections originally recorded for New Dawn and Glow, the band says that:

Each track has unique parts written specifically for the cello, adding extra melodies and layers that help the songs to reach new heights. After playing several shows and festival slots across the country, and in preparation for our set at MetalDays 2022, we decided to capture the sound we’d created with Arianna by recording a live set at Gusto Studios in Luton, Bedfordshire.

Have you forgotten about Countless Skies? How could you when New Dawn and Glow are two of the finest melodic metal albums released in modern times? Both sounding as fresh now as they did when they were released in 2016 and 2020 respectively.

Still, it’s been a few years, and with a run of dates coming up with the mighty MØL, it’s time to be reminded just why they are such a special band.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Resonance features five tracks, two from New Dawn and three for Glow, all recorded live and enhanced by the vastly talented cellist Arianna Mahsayeh. Together, they breathe fresh life into the tracks, without replacing them, and show just how far this band has come. Even a track like Tempest, a personal favourite, sounds so much bigger here.

This release is phenomenal and not just for fans of Countless Skies either. It will work wonders as an introduction to the band for those who want to find out what all the fuss is about. A fuss that Countless Skies more than deserve.

Countless Skies – Resonance Track Listing:

1. Daybreak
2. Summit
3. Glow
4. Wanderer
5. Tempest


Bandcamp | Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Willowtip Records


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Countless Skies - Resonance (Willowtip Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)