Album Review: Corpsessed – Impetus of Death (Dark Descent Records)

Finland’s Corpsessed will break a four-year silence this fall with the release of Impetus of Death. Featuring eight crushing tracks of old-school, obscure death metal, Impetus of Death is due out November 23rd 2018 on Dark Descent Records.

Corpsessed 2

Fans of a filthy, crusted sore style of death metal will feel right at home in the bowels of Impetus of Death. This is an album of vile death metal, one that shakes the foundations of the sub-genre, reminding you that the style of metal was once akin to primordial ooze.

From the opening title track to the Endless Plains of Dust to the Begetter of Doom, this is an album that can be summed up with just one word…brutal.

One of the nicer surprise about the album though is how its roughness is offset by a decent, clean sound allowing the nuances of Corpessed’s nastiness to sit at the front and centre making sure you can’t ignore it. If you need more convincing just go listen to the darkness laden Graveborne and Forlorn Burial, a pair of tracks that will leave your mind blacker then starless night.

Corpsessed 1

Corpsessed – Impetus of Death Full Track Listing:

1. Impetus of Death
2. Sortilege
3. Endless Plains of Dust
4. Graveborne
5. Paroxysmal
6. Forlorn Burial
7. Begetter of Doom
8. Starless Event Horizon



You can order the album now over on Bandcamp and merchandise via Big Cartel. Find out more via Corpsessed’s Facebook Page and Instagram.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Corpsessed - Impetus of Death (Dark Descent Records)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
5 (1 vote)