Album Review: Cocyte – Human Disease (Self Released)

The debut album. The Human Disease, from Belgian death metal/deathcore band, Cocyte will be self-released on June 2nd 2017.

Guitarist Jimmy Maes had this to say regarding the themes found throughout the album:

“We were leaning towards the story of humankind, the spirit of man, behaviour, etc. and this album turned into an absolute statement of the situation on earth. The Human Disease is what the man has in its core, a disease. During the album you can find a common thread, it’s a story following the life of a man who describes many sides of humanity such as the relation between God and himself, the impact of religions on earth, the mental problems and darkest behaviours such as sexual assault, destruction of the land and our own kind, war, consumer society.

Finally the story turns to a more positive note as our man finds a refuge in his spirit because our world is no longer worth it, he builds a sanctuary where he is completely satisfied and full of joy. But he is human after all, and slowly starts to destroy his sancturary, like everyone else, he is infected by The Human Disease. This album is dark vision of the world but the conclusion is not a dead cause, we have hope in humanity, we can change, but it can’t be done alone, people must wake up and become better.”

Cocyte 1

Ominous is an apt title for the opening 2 minute haunting melody that utilises classical instruments before erupting into an myriad of wailing guitars & crushing drum beats. It’s an intro that makes you sit up & take notice of what is to follow.

Mind-bending melodies mixed with brain-flattening heaviness; We Are Divided, The Oppressed, Malevolent Urge…the first couple of tracks just absolutely slay in their fury. Blasting beats that exude aggression all helped along by throat shredding vocals. The latter of the three, Malevolent Urge really stands out for its high-pitched, twisting guitar solo.

It’s not until Behind the Mess of the Soul is there time to breathe. A short (42 seconds) industrial sounding piece of music, it’s very odd sounding & makes you feel a tad uncomfortable but it moves into Shadows & Illusions so seamlessly that you almost what to stand up & applaud.

Shadows & Illusions & The Human Disease are the last two ‘balls out’ songs on an album that feels far too short. The former is so intense & has some of the albums best riffs while the latter hurls as much destructive force as it possibly can at you. Unfortunately it’s probably the weakest song on the album & alongside Last Requiem’s soft uninspiring melody, the album just kinds of peters out.

It’s a small blemish on an otherwise great metal experience. The Human Disease is filled with crushing death metal riffs, furious sounding vocals & some genuinely fantastic drumming!

Cocyte 2

Cocyte – Human Disease Full Track Listing:

1. Ominous
2. We Are Divided
3. The Oppressed
4. Malevolent Urge
5. Hollow Cause
6. Mechanical Refuge
7. Behind the Mess of the Soul
8. Shadows & Illusions
9. The Human Disease
10. Last Requiem

You can pick up The Human Disease over on Bandcamp as well as check out Cocyte out on Facebook, Twitter & YouTube.



  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Cocyte – Human Disease (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *