Album Review: Boobs of Doom – Skeleton Jazz Wizard (Self Released)

12 albums. 12 months. Throughout ALL of 2019.

What a plan from Boobs of Doom, a sensational amalgamation of depressive drone, doom, death, distortion and much more. Their 12 albums, 12-month plan is something truly unique and it has certainly got our attention. However, the reasoning behind it is best described by the band themselves:

Boobs 2

“Five years weev been at this. Still not dead yet; which is surprising to us considering the lengths those years went to to try and break us. 2018 was a proper hateful cunt-lump of a year for us Boobs: We lost too many furbabies; too many funerals; too many abhorrent political crooks running the shitshow (THE FILTH!); too many bloody horrible sheeple complicitly lapping up the shite (THE SCUM); rapidly declining chronic health issues, diseases and new afflictions; and far FAR too much fucking PAIN!

Squinting out at the world in 2018 from a haze of brainfog, canabis and prescription painkillers, we never thought we’d get so fatigued hating stupid stuff, but everything fatigues us these days. which amounted to only one cassette release (YO, ODD CHORUS PEEPS!) and a 2 track album for charidee. The only thing we were really thankful to 2018 for was all the support for Carrie’s Fund. Carrie hit her gofundme target and got the surgery she needed. Fuck knows how we’d have handled it if she hadn’t. Regardless, thankya-hjoojbig to all the BODies who contributed or helped spread the word.



We digress.

Time was we had a reputation for being prolific and could punt oot anything up to 4 albums (and a mixtape in a pear tree!) per year. Circumstances being what they are, our output was waaaay below our weird self-imposed projections/deadlines.

In lieu of all this we ought to be planning our jump off some high cliffs, but no. We have elected to celebrate 5 years as a band instead. so, here it is:

In reality, we embedded secret knowledge, subliminal messages, psychic vampirism and theta wave manipulation into one great big 13 hour long album, chopped into chunks and are dribbling them out over the year. The concept is that if it gets enough simultaneous listeners, the themes and ideas encoded within the music and art will resonate on a global scale and kickstart the next strange stage of human (r)evolution! Unless yr a Greedhead or the FILTH, in that case yr head will explode. Cool, huh? Grand concepts R US. LOL. Weer setting ourselves up to fail but that’s okay.

In practice, each ‘album ‘(..,’episode’, ‘segment’ or whatever pretentious bollocks title we eventually decide is cannon) will be musically and thematically different from the last and you should come to recognise them each as a different aspect of our oeuvre; psychedelic / dub / heavy / drone / soundtrack / doom etcetera. There’s even a ‘pop’ album. 12 of the fuckers. Yaaaas. You lucky BODies! We’ll warn ye now: this shit might fuck you up …in a good way ….maybe…

Part one, entitled “esc.” was January’s release and you can read our review here. February’s was Terror Management Theory at you can read that review here. Aonach Eagach was March’s entry and you can read that review here. April’s release was called wEIRD aRT rIOT and you can read that review here. May’s release was called Sorcerer and you can read that review here.

Which brings us to the half way point. Episode 6 is called Skeleton Jazz Wizard and is out on June 25th 2019.

Boobs 3

Here we go again! You might think we/d be getting sick of Boobs of Doom’s monthly releases but that is not the case. In fact, each new release brings with it a certain level of excitement and wonder. Wondering just what the duo have in store for us this time!

Skeleton Jazz Wizard has 14 tracks of dissonant noise, haunting effects, uncomfortable sounds and everything else in between. While 14 tracks might seem like quite a lot especially when compared to previous releases, each one is fairly short (by Boobs of Doom standards) and far more concise.

Eerie noise is on the cards with opener BOD which flows seamlessly into the super-fuzzy electronica beat of O.M.G. So very Boobs of Doom and the duo at their strongest too. The mellow effects at the end of the track put this up there as one of the best songs not just on this album but from Boobs of Doom so far.

The electronica oddities is the dominant part of many of the tracks here, often still with an undercurrent of darkness but maybe not as noticeable. The album as a whole just sounds so well produced and there’s a lot less of the super-fuzziness about it.

Highlights include the punchy and fast FML with its kick-ass drum beat, the unusual beat and arcade video game effects of DNR and the echoey guitars of TPN and futuristic stylish rhythm. A small selection of an album with many moments worth highlighting.

Boobs of Doom – Skeleton Jazz Wizard Full Track Listing:

1. BOD
2. O. M. G.
3. WTF?
4. FFS!
5. AFK
6. FML
7. (((BBW)))
8. DNR
9. BFG
10. M*A*D
11. TPN
12. RNG
13. S//A\\D
14. LOL

The album and all of Boobs of Doom’s earlier work can be found over on Bandcamp. Find out more and keep up to date with news by checking out the band’s websiteFacebook PageTwitterInstagram and YouTube.

Boobs of Doom - Skeleton Jazz Wizard (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!