Album Review: Blue Heron – Ephemeral (Seeing Red Records/Kozmik Artifactz)

Hailing from Albuquerque, New Mexico, Blue Heron are a heavy, fuzz-laden, desert rock band. On May 27th, 2022 they will release their album ‘Ephemeral’ via Seeing Red Records (N. America) and Kozmik Artifactz (Europe).

Embodying the desert, Blue Heron follow in the footsteps of all that have trekked before them. The sand under the feet moves like waves and the heat bakes the brain as Blue Heron deliver a fuzzy, coarse, groove-heavy blast of rock.

Far more anthemic than you might expect, Ephemeral is an infectious listen. Combining clever instrumentation with raw and gruffer vocals. Expect to find the body moving as though uncontrollable chills are running through it. Especially when the album kicks off with such a heavyweight groover as Futurola (that main riff is golden). Then along comes Sayonara, a 13+ minute epic that is slow moving and dirty sounding but has so many peaks and valleys, it’s near impossible to keep up on a cursory listen. This is a track that requires multiple listens and real concentration to unpack. A highlight of the record, Blue Heron might never be able to top its brilliance.

Buy Me a Coffee at

It’s back to something a bit more straight-forward though with the fuzz/drum combo of Push the Sky. Followed by a short piece of atmospheric melody ringing out on Infinition Field and The Buck’s laidback approach slowly seeping its way into the mind, body and soul. Blue Heron upping the ante as it goes on, infusing more and more passion into the vocals and riffs. A track you can get down and dirty too.

Black Blood of the Earth brings a heavy flurry with Blue Heron’s usual panache for groovy riffs, before they deliver another short, melodic and touching piece of instrumental music in the form of Where One Went Together.

This epic slice of modern desert rock, a consistently charming album, then wraps up with Salvage. One of the album’s heaviest efforts, Blue Heron digging down a bit deeper to spit out a few more barbs while still embodying exactly what makes desert rock so beloved all over.

An unforgettable listen. Ephemeral sends your mind to the deepest desert. Where the mood alternates between suffocating warmth and soul-sucking chills. Where the wander is both exhausting and exhilarating, and Blue Heron make it known that they are no mirage.

Blue Heron – Ephemeral Full Track Listing:

1. Futurola
2. Sayonara
3. Push the Sky
4. Infiniton Field
5. The Buck
6. Black Blood of the Earth
7. Where One Went Together
8. Salvage


Bandcamp | Spotify | Facebook | Instagram | Kozmik Artifactz


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Blue Heron - Ephemeral (Seeing Red Records/Kozmik Artifactz)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)