Album Review: Bloody Hammers – Songs Of Unspeakable Terror (Napalm Records)

The Transylvania County, North Carolina-based husband and wife duo that is Bloody Hammers have been offering up wavelengths of heavy metal, doom and goth rock since their formation in 2010. Now Bloody Hammers explore new territory on their new album Songs of Unspeakable Terror. The duo adding retro-ized horror punk to their trademark mix.

Written and recorded under lockdown, Songs of Unspeakable Terror will see the light of day on the 15th January 2021 via Napalm Records.

If you enjoy yourself some Misfits, The Cramps or bands in that vein then you’re sure to find yourself moving and grooving to Bloody Hammers’ new release. A horror-infused slab of punk, metal and goth rock that is disgustingly catchy. From the moment the fuzzy guitar rhythm, foot-tapping percussion and incorrigible vocals hit on the opener A Night to Dismember, even the dead will be up and dancing.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Elsewhere catchy and darkness covered hitters like Witchfinder General, Waking the Dead and We Are the Damned keep the rot from setting in. Just three tracks that stand out for all the right reasons. Where Bloody Hammers show just how clever and up to date their blend of punk, goth rock and metal is.

It has been said a few times already but it bears repeating just to ‘hammer’ the stake home. Songs of Unspeakable Terror is astonishingly catchy and it won’t take long before most will have learned the words and are singing along loudly and proudly. That such a slice of quality was written and recorded during such difficult times is testament to the brilliance of this band.

Regardless of its horror infusion, it is an album that will put a big smile on faces.

Bloody Hammers – Songs of Unspeakable Terror Full Track Listing:

1. A Night to Dismember
2. Hands of The Ripper
3. Witchfinder General
4. Not of This Earth
5. The Ones Who Own the Dark
6. Waking the Dead
7. Night of The Witch
8. We Are the Damned
9. The Brain That Wouldn’t Die
10. Lucifer’s Light
11. I Spit on Your Corpse


Facebook | Instagram | Napalm Records

Bloody Hammers - Songs Of Unspeakable Terror (Napalm Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!