Album Review: Black Space Riders – Amoretum Vol. 2 (Black Space Records/Cargo Records)

What is this?! A new Black Space Riders album so soon?! Yes, your eyes and ears do not deceive you, the hard rocking German riff lords are back with Amoretum Vol. 2 following on from Vol. 1 that was released in January 2018.

The songs on Amoretum Vol. 1 & Vol. 2 were composed during the summer of 2017, and subsequently recorded and produced in a single rush of creativity. The band decided to release the more than two hours of music that came from their three-month writing session in two different parts. Their 6th album, Amoretum Vol. 2 is a continuation – a second book – but it also exists as a completely autonomous work.

You can read our review of the first album here.

Black Space Records and Cargo Records will release Amoretum Vol. 2 on July 27th 2018 on double vinyl (w/ CD), digipack CD and digital formats.

Amoretum 2

Continuing the theme of the Vol. 1 with its upbeat riffing, unusual tone shifts and body-shaking groove, Vol. 2 certainly doesn’t feel like an album of ‘b-sides’. It does feel as though Black Space Riders have let their imagination run a bit wild though with the likes of LoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLove! (Break the Pattern of Fear) delivering a wacky but fun listening experience.

Then there are the high-energy tracks that bring some bounce such as Sláinte (Salud, Dinero, Amor) and the fuzzy groove of Assimilating Love. Black Space Riders understand groove and know how to appeal to those who enjoy plenty of body-moving rock. They even have a track called Body Move that is trying a little to hard to be a disco tune but is all kinds of fun with its bassy beat.

It’s a pity that there isn’t enough of that inventiveness though as a few tracks fall flat. Walls Away is simply boring, In Our Garden goes nowhere and Take Me to the Stars is very bland.

The latter half of the album is a mix of interestingly imaginative hits and blandly unexciting misses. The subtly of Ch Ch Ch Ch Pt. I (The Ugly Corruptor) kind of draws you in at first but then you get past minute 6 and realise this is it! Contrast that with Ch Ch Ch Ch pt. II (Living in My Dream), a shorter and more volatile number that gets the juices flowing with wicked rhythm.

Amoretum 1

Black Space Riders – Amoretum Vol. 2 Full Track Listing:

1. Before My Eyes
2. LoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLove! (Break the Pattern of Fear)
3. Walls Away
4. Sláinte (Salud, Dinero, Amor)
5. Assimilating Love
6. In Our Garden
7. Leaves of life (Falling Down)
8. Body Move
9. Take Me To the Stars
10. Ch Ch Ch Ch Pt. I (The Ugly Corruptor)
11. Ch Ch Ch Ch pt. II (Living in My Dream)
12. Chain Reaction
13. No Way
14. The Wait is Never Over



You can order the album via Bandcamp here and via Black Space Riders’ website. Find out more about the band via FacebookTwitter and check out some of their videos on YouTube.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Black Space Riders - Amoretum Vol. 2 (Black Space Records/Cargo Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)